AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 1 of 16 (138 Views)
Accepted Solution

LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

138 Views, 15 Replies
04-27-2012 07:28 AM

SORRY FOR THE DOUBLE POSTING, BUT I FIGURED A RESPONSE IN THE 2000 FORUM MIGHT TAKE SOME TIME IF IT IS NOT FREQUENTLY USED;

 

WAS FREEZING LAYERS BY VIEWPORT AVAILABLE IN 2000, I TRYING TO HELP OUT A VENDOR WITH OLDER SOFTWARE AND CANNOT REMEMBER WHEN THIS FEATURE WAS MADE AVAILABLE.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,158
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 16 (135 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: jackshield

Started with 2008

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 3 of 16 (127 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: Patchy

HOW ABOT CHSPACE?

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,158
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 16 (124 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: jackshield

Around 2000 if you have the Express Disc (Available if you were on subsciption)

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 5 of 16 (117 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: Patchy

THANKS PATCHY, I WANT TO GIVE THE VENDOR A SOLUTION HE CAN ACTUALLY USE, MAY JUST INSTRUCT HIM TO USE CUT N PASTE.

 

I HAVE A 5 SHEET DRAWING IN MODEL SPACE (SCHEMATIC)

 

ALL USING THE SAME TITLEBLOCK, BUT SHEET 1 ON LAYER, SHEET 2 ON LAYER 2, ETC.

 

YOU HAVE TO TURN LAYERS ON/OFF FOR PRINTING SHEETS, VERY BAD USE OF CAD, IMHO

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,565
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 16 (114 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jackshield

Hi,

 

>> WAS FREEZING LAYERS BY VIEWPORT AVAILABLE IN 2000

Yes, freezing of layer by (layout-)viewports was available with the introduction of viewports, otherwise viewports would not make any sense, if you can't differeciate between them

With release 2008 the layerproperty-overrides where introduced (overriding color/linetype/lineweight per viewport).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 7 of 16 (107 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

since they are all stacked on top of each other, in model, and paper space was not used at all, i am assuming rudementary cad skills (not meant to be derogatory, just descriptive)

i think i am going to instruct him to copy and paste to 5 layouts, and delte unessicary layers per tab.

i dont want to make it too complicated

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,158
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 16 (102 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I'll install 2000 later this weekend and check on this option :smileyindifferent:

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 9 of 16 (100 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: Patchy

its just been so long, its hard to remember what tools were available with what ... then again, maybe its the altheimers

 

what was the question again?

 

have you seen my keys?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,158
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 16 (96 Views)

Re: LAYERS BY VIEWPORT IN 2000

04-27-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: jackshield

Anyone were using 2000 version ought to earn altheimers and proud of it, I am ☺

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube