AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 11 of 24 (307 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 06:41 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Not too far behind ya, Designjet 800, and our problem is it keeps getting fixed!!!

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,084
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 24 (306 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 06:42 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

 


GilesPhillips wrote:

DesignJet 750C Plus

 

It's so old it's made from beige plastic.. ick.

 

Problem it it doesn't break.

 

G


We don't actually use it, but we still have one of those, and it does still work.

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,084
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 13 of 24 (301 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 06:49 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

Differences between releases are marginal at best, but as TrevN made mention of, moving from XP and 2GB ram to Win7x64 and 12GB ram is like night and day. If you are really looking to see noticable speed increases in the areas you mentioned, this is the route to go.

 

Also, as mentioned we have several older HP printers and we can print to them just fine. HP makes a universal x64 print driver that works on them. As far as direct AutoCAD printing goes, we are still using the same old HP750 driver that we were using 12+ years ago....

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,044
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 14 of 24 (268 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 11:47 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

For any given hardware/OS, new software with new features will almost always be slower.  It would take a major revolution in software, framework (.NET or COM or the next generation), etc. to show a major speed improvement.

 

Plus, such comparisons are almost always made with 2-3 year-old hardware while the new release was test-run with if not cutting edge then last-years hardware.  If you didn't already have 3 GHz processors I would have suggested looking into the costs of faster processors and doing a simple hardware upgrade.  Push your IT to get their next OS upgrade plan in place, and make sure it includes a hardware/OS migration to 64 bit.  If they are operating on a schedule (and if not, WHY not) slip in your AutoDesk upgrades alongside it.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 15 of 24 (262 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 12:26 PM in reply to: GilesPhillips

I can understand there will be differences in the PC variables between "YOUR" computer and "MY" computer, but I think the OP's question is stil valid in asking if 2012 is faster than 2011 if they are both installed on the SAME machine. Certainly you should notice a difference in performance on the same machine?

 

Since AutoCAD 2009, there have been a numbe of tricks to speed AutoCAD up, like, using the Layer Dialog as opposed to the Layer Palette, etc.  I am curious to know if these memory intensive features are no longer memory intensive?

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,084
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 16 of 24 (256 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 12:40 PM in reply to: murray-clack
I agree that certain things may be faster due to improvements (such as the Ribbon in 2012), but generally speaking, dgorsman is right, newer versions will always be somewhat slower given everything else the same - just because there is just more program being loaded...

As I mentioned earlier, if you are a big Ribbon user, you'll think this version is much faster because you can switch tabs instantly right after the AutoCAD opens, same goes for the application menu. But in reality, you are only saving a fraction of a second each time - but it seems so much faster and perception goes a l-o-n-g way.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,615
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 17 of 24 (243 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: murray-clack

On my new-ish PC for R2011 (Win7 64bit, last summer), R2012 runs everyday tasks at the same exact speed, only clicking between panels in the ribbon is quicker.

 

On my old PC (Vista 32bit) that ran R2008 and R2009 like a dream, and slowed a tad with R2010, R2011 was noticeably slower everywhere, no AutoCAD speed-up tricks really worked to improve it.

 

So... if the OP is basically running something similar to my old PC, they are not going to enjoy R2012 much.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jtomkinson
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 18 of 24 (229 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

03-31-2011 06:35 PM in reply to: GilesPhillips

I'd say definately.
I'm using a Pentium D & had to kick 2011 to the kerb for being too **** buggy & way to slow.

In comes 2012 & it's happy days for me. Way more responsive than 2011 with all the same visual/performance settings, & possibly a bit nippier that 2010.

 

I've had a quick play with the 3D & it's responsive. Startup times are slower, but not by too much.

Contributor
GrahamSherwood6686
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 19 of 24 (213 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

04-01-2011 03:12 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

We have one of those, they go forever.

 

Apparently you can get a work around.

 

HP1050C driver works for HP750C Plus in Windows 7!Options


Copy and pasted from somewhere else on the forumsl. .....

 
01-19-2010 11:48 AM
I posted a while back on the HP750C driver problem in Windows 7. jg suggested using the HP1050C driver instead. It works!! I downloaded the driver from HP and installed it. Had to install a parallel port card on my new computer and Windows assigned it LPT3. Added the HP1050C to my printer list and the LPT3 port - voila! The 750C plots again! Needs some tweaking on the size settings so it cuts the sheet properly but I'm just happy to be able to plot in Windows 7. THANKS JG!! Other than some minor compatibility issues with my older software, I love Windows 7.


dean: PLOTTERMANAGER while inside AutoCAD, set up the available HP750c driver.
Done.
 
2 methods
1) see Dean's message above
2) from windows devices and printers, add a printer, choose local port
and type of connection or add a tcp/ip port and fill in blanks for ip
address, choose have disk for printer driver and point it at the
directory you unzipped the driver to.

Distinguished Contributor
donande
Posts: 294
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 20 of 24 (193 Views)

Re: Is it any quicker?

04-01-2011 06:27 AM in reply to: murray-clack

I agree with murrar-clack it is completely relevant if 2012 is fast on your PC or mine.

 

The only thing to me that matters is if 2012 on my PC is faster then 2011 on my PC

and

The only thing to you that should matter is if 2012 on you PC is faster then 2011 on you PC.

 

 

I timed load time of a large .dwg and found both 2012 and 2011 to load at the same speed.

 

I also timed the load time;

Load time IS NOT faste, it is slower. ( 40% slower)

10secs to load 2011 on my PC, and 14secs to load 2012 on my PC. 

Not that load really matters; I just don’t like being lied to, especially when it such a easily provability wrong and noticeable lie.  

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube