AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-28-2000
Message 1 of 11 (942 Views)
Accepted Solution

Invalid block name on -insert

942 Views, 10 Replies
10-11-2012 01:59 PM

I have a small LiSP routine I wrote about 14 years ago that no longer works. It is supposed to update a logo on a title block using the -insert command with a redefine option and a cancel

 

(command "-insert" "K:\\FORMATS\\LAYOUTS\\GSILOGO.dwg" "y" ^c)

 

When I run the routine I get an error message "Invalide block name" and it cancels the command without updating.

Yet, if I insert the same block through the insert dialog box it allows the file to be inserted.

 

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,297
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 11 (919 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-12-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

Did you type it all out at the command line to test (instead of using something totally different like the pop-up)?

Testing is key. Seems to work fine here with my blocks/paths so you might be able to discover the problem manaully.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 3 of 11 (905 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-12-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

From Help on the -INSERT command:

Updating a Block Definition:If you make changes to a block file that is inserted in your drawing and you want to change the existing block definition without creating a new block insertion, enter the following at the Specify Insertion Point prompt (following the Enter Block Name prompt):

block name=

Does that help?

Active Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-28-2000
Message 4 of 11 (861 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 06:22 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

@ Dean:

Yes. That was the first thing I tried. When I type it at the command line, without quotes (K:\formats\layouts\gsilogo.dwg), it ignores the path and inserts the block that is already inserted in the drawing. When I type it with quotes ("K:\\formats\\layouts\\gsilogo.dwg") I get the invalid block error.

 

Thanks,

Scott

Active Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-28-2000
Message 5 of 11 (856 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: pendean

Dean

I've attached a drawing that contains the block, and the block I want to replace it with. Perhaps you could test it on your end?

 

Thanks,

Scott

*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 6 of 11 (849 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

I guess I wasn't specific enough.  You have to indicate the block name you're replacing, followed by an "=" and the pathname\filename of the dwg you want to replace it with.

The LISP would be thus:

(command "-insert" "myblockname=mypath\\mydwgname" "y" ^c)

Active Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-28-2000
Message 7 of 11 (847 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

I understood what you said, and I tried it without success. I still got the invalid block name error message

*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 8 of 11 (845 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

Please post the exact line of code you are trying without success.

Active Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-28-2000
Message 9 of 11 (829 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: dmfrazier

When I enter the following line at the command prompt it finds the correct block but doesn't ask if I want to redefine.

block name=k:\formats\layouts\gsilogo.dwg

 

When I enter the following line at the command prompt

block name=k:\formats\layouts\gsilogo.dwg =

 

I get the following error:

---------------------------
AutoCAD Message
---------------------------
"gsilogo.dwg =.dwg"
Can't find file in search path:
  C:\Documents and Settings\srestmeyer\My Documents\ (current directory)
  C:\LispTest\
  C:\Documents and Settings\srestmeyer\application data\autodesk\autocad mechanical 2010\r18.0\enu\support\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\support\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\fonts\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\help\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\express\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\support\color\
  C:\program files\autodesk\acadm 2010\custom\
  K:\formats\
  K:\tcfonts\
  C:\Program Files\Autodesk\ACADM 2010\drv\
  C:\Program Files\Autodesk\ACADM 2010\

 

The search list is my search path setting.

*Pro
Posts: 2,510
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 10 of 11 (823 Views)

Re: Invalid block name on -insert

10-15-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: srestmeyer

I didn't see the exact line of code you have been trying in your last post, but here's the line of LISP code I think you would want to use:

 

(command "-insert" "gsilogo=k:\\formats\\layouts\\gsilogo" "y" ^c)

 

(When I tested it with your sample files it worked just fine.)

 

To the left of the "=" is the name of the block in the current drawing that you want to replace.

To the right of the "=" is the path and filename of the drawing you want to use to replace that block.  (You must use \\ instead of \ inside AutoLISP.)

Notice that the entire string "blockname=path\\filename" is enclosed in quotes.

Also, you don't have to include the ".dwg" after the filename (but it's okay if you do).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube