AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 16 (825 Views)

How to know the size of the layer?

825 Views, 15 Replies
07-26-2010 08:50 AM

 

How to know the size of the layer?

 

Why this property is not yet available?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 2 of 16 (822 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

07-26-2010 09:03 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

While in the Layer Manager, right-click at the top of the column (ie. Status, Name, On, Off, etc) a pop-up menu will appear, and there are several options to manipulate the widths of the layer columns

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 16 (821 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

07-26-2010 09:07 AM in reply to: murray-clack

i'm talking about the size of layer in MB, the space on the hard disk...how much each layer forms in the total of the file size...!but not about the column width

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 16 (803 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

07-26-2010 10:55 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

AutoCAD isn't set up that way - objects refer to the layer they are on, so the "size" you are looking for would need to know all of the objects in the file and the layer in question.  What do you need this for?  For the most part its an irrelevant piece of information given the current (and even previous) generation of computer hardware.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Valued Mentor
tzzzzoddhepworth4253
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 5 of 16 (761 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

07-26-2010 04:01 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

easiest way:  wblock to a separate drawing, subtract the size of your blank drawing/drawing template file.

 

Otherwise - add a s a request item in the AUGI forums - if it becomes a "top 10" item, Autodesk will consider incorporating into a future release....

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 6 of 16 (359 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

05-04-2011 04:15 PM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

I'm again to this post!!!!!

 

I like your advice to put this post in the wish list but i didn't!!!!!

 

Regards

 

Jamal

 

 

 

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,302
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 7 of 16 (356 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

05-04-2011 04:19 PM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

could you please provide the official link for AUGI forums? i go so many on the net!!!!

 

thank you

 

regards

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,924
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 16 (351 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

05-04-2011 07:07 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

www.augi.com, look for the forums.

 

but seriously, asking how big a layer is is like asking how heavy yellow is, or which way is west from the north pole.  there's no meaningfull answer possible.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,922
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 16 (341 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

05-05-2011 06:05 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

JamaL9722060 wrote:

I'm again to this post!!!!!

 

I like your advice to put this post in the wish list but i didn't!!!!!

 

Regards

 

Jamal

 

  


Do not confuse the AutoCAD layers with Layers in a GIS program,  they are two different items.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
BrianMcKinley
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-16-2009
Message 10 of 16 (284 Views)

Re: How to know the size of the layer?

10-22-2011 02:46 PM in reply to: JGerth

I think that could be helpful to know. If you were attempting to sort an issue with a large file size, it could help to know which layer has the most data. One could then explore that particular layer instead of the entire drawing.

 

West of the north pole is always south and to the right isn't it?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube