Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you contrain a range?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Davidpalmera
447 Views, 5 Replies

How do you contrain a range?

Hey guys, I am new to AutoCAD, so excuse me if this is a dumb question. I am familiar with SolidWorks and in that you are able to make a contraint within a certain range of motion between two objects. For example if I have a piston in a cylinder, I am able to make it so it stops at the Top Dead Center of the cylinder to avoid it from colliding with the upper wall. Is there any way that I can do this in AutoCAD 2012? If so I would like to do it in a 2D drawing, not 3D. I want to contrain this range in order to make blocks of retractable supports that my company offers, but I want to be able to limit how far they retract based on the model you chose to order. Thanks in advance guys! ~Dave
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
steve216586
in reply to: Davidpalmera

Look into using a dynamic block. You can find help in the Dynamic Block section forum or AutoCAD tutorials on YouTube if you want to go it a lone.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. "-Eleanor Roosevelt
Message 3 of 6
Davidpalmera
in reply to: steve216586

Thanks Steve, I'll look into using a dynamic block.
Message 4 of 6
Davidpalmera

So, I started to use the dynamic blocks and they are right down the ally of what I need, but the only other thing I have to figure out is how to contrain them to a range. The reason I am doing so is because we sell retractable supports and they come in specified ranges. So say I would want a support to range from 52-70", how can I set a minimum limit on the stretch to be 52" and a max to be 70"?
Message 5 of 6
Davidpalmera
in reply to: Davidpalmera