AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 1 of 4 (266 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do I update dims in drawing after changing dimstyle?

266 Views, 3 Replies
01-27-2014 12:28 PM

I seem to remember using _DIMSTYLE to open up the dimstyle manager and after changing a few things I had to update the parts of my drawing to reflect the new settings. I remember selecting all and clicking update.  How do I update my drawing's contents now?? I can click "Set Current" but there is no "update". Erasing my old leaders and text is becoming a pain.

 

Thanks for any help!

 

*Pro
Posts: 2,509
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 2 of 4 (256 Views)

Re: How do I update dims in drawing after changing dimstyle?

01-27-2014 12:46 PM in reply to: Jfactory

There are several ways (of course), depending on your workspace, preferences, and settings.

 

One way is to select the dims you want to update, right-click and select Update from the context menu.

 

Another way is to use the button for Dim Update on the Dimension toolbar.

 

You can also type Dim, followed by Up, select dims, Enter.

 

You can also create a new dim with the modified or new dimstyle, and use Match Props to make other dims match.

Active Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 3 of 4 (248 Views)

Re: How do I update dims in drawing after changing dimstyle?

01-27-2014 01:12 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

Thank you very much! For some reason it isn't in my right-click context menu.

 

I like the _DIM followed by UP method. That worked wonderfully! And the match properties one makes sense, I should've thought of that  :smileyhappy:

 

 

*Pro
Posts: 2,509
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 4 of 4 (243 Views)

Re: How do I update dims in drawing after changing dimstyle?

01-27-2014 01:33 PM in reply to: Jfactory

You're welcome.

 

"...it isn't in my right-click context menu"

 

Nor mine.  I mis-wrote. I mixed up one of my custom toolbars (for DimUpdate) and the right-click to change the Dim Style (which is another option that should accomplish the same thing).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube