AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
Pe-Kor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 1 of 14 (8,089 Views)
Accepted Solution

Heidi Module load error

8089 Views, 13 Replies
11-21-2011 03:25 AM

Know someone what to do if AutoCAD 2012 started with follows error?

"The configured Heidi driver cannot be loaded. Switching to default software driver."

I trought set the new plotter file with plotter manager but without succes.

AutoCAD 2011is going without problem.

Thanks for help

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 14 (8,079 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

11-21-2011 10:44 AM in reply to: Pe-Kor

Hi,

 

try command _3DCONFIG ==> (button) "Manual Tune" and disable "Hardware Acceleration".

If that didn't work, you could try to install the servicepack (if you haven't yet).

 

What graphiccard do you have in your system?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
Pe-Kor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 3 of 14 (8,048 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

11-28-2011 07:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hello, Alfred

thank you for your answer. It help, but I don't know why I must draw without hardware acceleration and support. The ACAD 2011 works excelent with full support of my graphic cart. I have Nvidia FX 1500. I downoaded the last driver for ACAD 2012  recomended from Autodesk on the web - 265.70 - but without succes too.

 

I have one question more:

Do you know system variable for switch on the dialog window (s)? Iif I will open the drawing of edit the block with attributes then come only command line to the action en it is not prety to work.

Thank you very much for answer.

Petr

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 14 (8,038 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

11-28-2011 07:47 AM in reply to: Pe-Kor

Hi,

 

>> but I don't know why I must draw without hardware acceleration and support

You don't need to have it disabled, try to reactivate it now, maybe it will work. Sometimes when installing a service pack for AutoCAD or when installing a new driver of the gc that deactive/re-activate is a good point to get rid of some config-data-loss in AutoCAD:

I hope that you didn't install the nVidia performance driver ==> if so try to deinstall it (and maybe a repair-install of AutoCAD may be necessary.

 

>> Do you know system variable for switch on the dialog window (s)?

For opening/saving drawings it's FILEDIA (look also >>>here<<<).

For editing block-attributes there are the following sysvar's to check:

  • ATTDIA
  • ATTREQ
  • DBLCLKEDIT
  • PICKFIRST

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alumni
shiny.stephen
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
Message 5 of 14 (7,997 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

12-05-2011 03:26 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

 

There are various suggestions posted on the forum on this issue. I understand that when launching AutoCAD 2012, it shows the error "Heidi Module Load Error. The configured Heidi driver cannot be loaded. Switching to default software driver."

 

After a bit of research with our development team the original error in this case with the Heidi Module error is a built in safety net. What happens is there is a known issue with Direct X 9 that causes a disconnect between the video card and the operating system when going to a sleep or screen saver mode. AutoCAD disengages from the video card Heidi module when this problem occurs. This is why you get the error.

AutoCAD does this to prevent a crash and loss of information. If it did not disconnect from the Heidi module and use its internal graphics AutoCAD would crash.

Basically this is an installed safety measure to prevent a crash with a known issue between the OS and the video card. Only certain cards have this particular issue when going to the screen saver or sleep mode. While they work properly otherwise this error message is nothing more than an alert and annoying. When the computer comes back from sleep the video card and OS reconnect and everything is put back to normal.
 
Heidi errors like this have to do with the video driver on your system. Often simply uninstalling and reinstalling the video driver will fix the problem. Aside from getting the current driver from the manufacturer's web site, you can also check your video card and driver against those that we have tested and certified:
 
http://www.autodesk.com/autocad-graphicscard

*Update graphics cards drivers

 
*You could also try going to your Options..."System Tab"...Select "Performance Settings"...try turning off Enable Hardware Acceleration...
 
*Perform a Windows Update to install the available fixes from Microsoft.


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!


Shiny Stephen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.


Member
Pe-Kor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 6 of 14 (7,978 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

12-06-2011 04:21 AM in reply to: Pe-Kor

Thanks for recomendation. My AutoCAD 2012 works if Enable Hardware Acceleration is OFF only.

I uninstaled the graphic driver and reistalled new one but the problem is the same.

The switch off some parts of the hardware acceleration make the colapse of AutoCAD.

If I modified the dimesion style in dimension style manager then it's was wery dificult work. After each clic of the mouse come the window with error message.

I work more efficiently with AutoCAD 2011.

I hope that new version of the AutoCAD will be better then 2012.

New Member
tcerina
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
Message 7 of 14 (7,944 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

12-09-2011 03:38 AM in reply to: Pe-Kor

I have exactly the same problems as other users. I am very dissapointed with this "version" generally, so I have to use  version 2011. I hope that the new version better. In fact, you dont have to change anything in older version, we will pay anyway our subscription. Rearranging the icons and commands is very unnecessary.

Distinguished Contributor
damo3
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 8 of 14 (7,920 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

12-11-2011 05:40 PM in reply to: shiny.stephen

just luck that i stumbled across this thread. i came across this error just a few days ago for the first time, caused by 'switching users' in windows 7,  so thanks for the information Shiny.

Employee
jchase123
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 9 of 14 (7,891 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

12-12-2011 08:22 PM in reply to: damo3

Hi all,

 

The Heidi Module load error can sometimes be fixed by reinstalling the DirectX components that are included on the AutoCAD installation disc. I have seen this problem a few times in the past and it can manifest itself a few different ways. If some of the DirectX components which are required to run get uninstalled or are corrputed than the hardware driver will not be able too run.

 

On the AutoCAD Disc:

 

\\CDROM1\3rdParty\DirectX\

 

I am not ensuring this will fix your issue, only if the problem stems from missing DirectX dependencies.


Best Regards,

Justin Chase

AutoCAD QA Engineer

Member
Pe-Kor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 10 of 14 (7,755 Views)

Re: Heidi Module load error

01-02-2012 10:44 PM in reply to: Pe-Kor

Possible solution:

I removed and complete new instaled AutoCAD 2012 from installation CD and it work without error message.

The graphic driver is accepted too with full support.

SP-1 download OK too.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube