AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
jneilon
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Message 1 of 13 (335 Views)
Accepted Solution

Generate Roofs based on plines

335 Views, 12 Replies
12-10-2012 11:27 AM

Is there a way to generate a roof based from plines? Like this but without tracing? I need to generate multiple roofs at once with the same slope ect.

Thanks.

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 2 of 13 (326 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: jneilon

Use this http://usa.autodesk.com/autocad-architecture/ you can

Not plain Autocad

Valued Contributor
jneilon
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Message 3 of 13 (323 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: Patchy

I presume your pointing to AutoCAD architectures Create roof function?

 

I am using AutoCAD Architecture and the Roof create botton but the only way to generate the roof is by tracing the walls of a building. In my case I have a polyline that I would like to select then generate a roof.

 

 

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 4 of 13 (319 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: jneilon
*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,642
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 5 of 13 (306 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: jneilon

jneilon,

attach a small dwg with a sample of buildings and roofs that you want.

 

Henrique

Valued Contributor
jneilon
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Message 6 of 13 (301 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: hmsilva

 Henrique See attached file for the building outline. The roof I am after is a Hip roof. A more manual way of doing this is here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OHx4a-3VBQ

 

 

I did not realize there was a Architecture forum I will ask there too.

*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,642
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 7 of 13 (291 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-10-2012 04:15 PM in reply to: jneilon

jneilon,

attached is a dwg with roofs, and a lisp file, I wrote now, is minimally tested... I dont know if you usually use lisp files, if not, saved the file and load it with appload command, see the dwg, it also has some notes.

 

Hope that helps

Henrique

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 8 of 13 (266 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-11-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: jneilon

A few reasons why you might not be able to get the roof conversion to work after looking at your file:

 

1)Your drawing units are in millimeters but your floor plans are only 12.5 units long.

 

2)Your polylines are old 2d polylines, not new so the system cannot recognize them.  Use CONVERTPOLY and then scale the plans up to make them true representations of the building size in millimeters.

Valued Contributor
jneilon
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Message 9 of 13 (257 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-11-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: dbroad

Sorry the lines were exported from 3Dsmax I did not check them. 

Valued Contributor
jneilon
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Message 10 of 13 (250 Views)

Re: Generate Roofs based on plines

12-11-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: hmsilva

Thanks Henrique, 

This works, I will see if a colleage of mine can automate this more.. I was hoping acad's create roof command would just work based on splines that are already created instead of specifing them by retracing. I am working on 100+ houses I would hate to redraw all of them manually.

 

Edit: In the AutoCAD architecture forum showed me a way to use the roof command on lines. Now I just need to automate it.

 

Thanks again for the help

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube