AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 1 of 15 (2,290 Views)

G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

2290 Views, 14 Replies
09-25-2012 08:54 AM

Good morning folks. I have been struggling with an issue to create a G-code from
an AutoCAD desktop 3D model of a 1911 pistal grip saved as a DXF file. I am new
at this and have a CNC 6040 3 axis routing machine. I have tried to load the DXF
file as an import but the file is not recognized by the Mach3 software. I have
downloaded a lisp comand for my AutoiCAD program which is supposed to generate a
G-code within Autocad but It doesnt recongnized some 3D elements. I am having a
dificult time getting the generater to read a "mesh" 3D form to generate a
G-code. I hope this doesnt sound all too confusing... the bottom line is I cant
seem to get a G-code out of a 3D CAD form.... has anyone had a similiar
problem and has found a way to generate smoothly a G-code from an AutoCAD 3D
form? I would apreciate some assitance with this mater.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,220
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 15 (2,287 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: tmann_008

Try turning 3d mesh to solid then use STL.

Attach your .dxf here and let's see.

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 3 of 15 (2,284 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: Patchy

here is the DFX 3d Im trying to edit now. I just cant seem to get a G-code or recognizable "object". (The DXF file was too large so I am attaching it as a dwg)

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 4 of 15 (2,280 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: Patchy

fyi; here is a comment I got from a CNC FORUM

"If it's a solid model, export it as an .stl and import the .stl into a 3D CAM
program. Very few CAM programs can read a .dxf of a 3D solid.

You'll need
a CAM program like MeshCAM or Cut3D, or CamBam.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,220
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 15 (2,272 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: tmann_008

Use FreeMill, it's free

Your drawing wasn't simmetrical, I guess that's why it failed.

 

 

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 6 of 15 (2,266 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: Patchy

Fantastic ! Thank you much. I'll try this Freemill

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 7 of 15 (2,234 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: Patchy

I'm still having trouble with that file to read solid objects. Here is another file. Hope you still have a chance to see this.

Tony

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,220
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 15 (2,226 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: tmann_008

Did you draw these ?  They are not the same location therefore no watertight surface can be made.

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 9 of 15 (2,217 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 01:44 PM in reply to: Patchy

Thats what I am finding out that they are not watertight. Is there a way to make them watertight ? These where some grips I downloaded from a CNC web site... trying to make some grips on this used 3 axis router i have and been struggling with g-code.

Contributor
tmann_008
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 10 of 15 (2,215 Views)

Re: G-code from 3D mesh model for CNC 3axis machine

09-25-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: Patchy

these are the files i tried.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube