AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 1 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Exiting a unlocked viewport

9278 Views, 13 Replies
09-02-2009 02:16 PM
I am trying to figure out a way to exit a activated viewport that I am in. I am zoomed in on a area in the activated viewport. Well sometimes I forget to lock the viewport before I zoom in. So then I cant zoom back out and deactivate the viewport.
*Brad
Message 2 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-02-2009 02:26 PM in reply to: jamied2000
PS for paper space. Personally, my default is lock viewports. I only
unlock them to change scales, and then lock them immediately after setting
the scale.

--
Brad
C3D 2010 on Vista Business 64 SP 2
LT 2010 on XP Pro SP 3
wrote in message
news:6248014@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am trying to figure out a way to exit a activated viewport that I am in.
I am zoomed in on a area in the activated viewport. Well sometimes I forget
to lock the viewport before I zoom in. So then I cant zoom back out and
deactivate the viewport.
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 3 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-02-2009 02:33 PM in reply to: jamied2000
thanks
Mentor
Janet2009
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
Message 4 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-02-2009 02:33 PM in reply to: jamied2000
Keep all viewports lock all the time and use vpmax.
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 5 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-03-2009 10:12 AM in reply to: jamied2000
I had buttons for locking/unlocking viewports years back :-P
I also have them now for locking and unlocking all of the bars etc, and for field background visibility. And I have them for switching to and form isometric.
And apparently I have too much time on my hands lol...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Contributor
BRANDONHARMON7552
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-04-2009 08:10 AM in reply to: jamied2000
Double click on the "hatched border" around the perimeter of the screen...this should work...
Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 7 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-04-2009 08:37 AM in reply to: jamied2000
Pick an F key you don't use and assign this macro to it:
^C^C^P$M=$(if,$(=,$(getvar,cvport),1),mspace,pspace)
Or pick the button in the system tray that says MODEL
Distinguished Contributor
donande
Posts: 294
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 8 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-04-2009 08:48 AM in reply to: jamied2000
In your button tray, turn on “Paper/Model”.
One thing good about have it on is that you can see what space your in before zooming.

Just right click the gray area at the button of your screen, (Between coordinates and workspace switching).

"Viewport Maximize" is also an option that you may wait.
*Brad
Message 9 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-04-2009 11:31 AM in reply to: jamied2000
Does anyone have a macro, lisp, etc. that will automatically lock all
viewports when switching layouts? I can put it in my other commands, but I
usually just pick the layout I want with the mouse. The only routine I have
seen that is close is a layer state routine by Dotsoft. Since we use both
full and LT, it would be good to have a routine that works with both, or one
routine per type of AutoCAD.

Brad
C3D 2010 on Vista Business 64 SP 2
LT 2010 on XP Pro SP 3


wrote in message
news:6248035@discussion.autodesk.com...
thanks
Valued Contributor
clrbedwards
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 10 of 14 (9,278 Views)

Re: Exiting a unlocked viewport

09-04-2009 12:10 PM in reply to: jamied2000
Go to this thread:

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=468710

Scroll down to the post from Jason Rhymes and try the VPlock_unlock.lsp. It is the best one I have found. It not only locks and unlocks all viewports, but it shows borders of locked viewports as red, and the ulocked ones as green. Really helpful.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube