AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
thebeesnees
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-05-2005
Message 1 of 5 (558 Views)
Accepted Solution

Duplicate Attribute (echo)

558 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 02:25 AM

I have a drawing template (block) where the drawing number is displayed in two locations (attributes). The same value has to be entered in both attributes.

 

Is there any way of "echoing" the data from one attribute to other attributes (or text objects)?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (549 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

11-16-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: thebeesnees

Hi,

 

using fields can do that (>>>details<<<).

Check the attached drawing with one sample block inserted. Change it's attribute "ORIG" and after that do a _REGEN.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
thebeesnees
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-05-2005
Message 3 of 5 (543 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

11-16-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Almost perfect.

 

Only minor issue is that the second attribute (COPY) can be overwritten accidentally. Would be ideal if the second attribute could be hidden or protected although I don't think it is possible.

 

Does the job though, thanks for your help.

 

Active Contributor
cvc-it-mb
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

02-13-2014 11:53 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Ok, nice example. But how did you do it?

Active Contributor
cvc-it-mb
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 5 of 5 (176 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

02-13-2014 03:17 PM in reply to: cvc-it-mb

Found it... I was unclear on the step-by-step.

 

  1. Create a single attribute.
  2. Create an MText object or another Attribute.
  3. Within the editor, open the shortcut menu (right-click in edit-box) and select insert field.
  4. Field Category: Objects
  5. Field Names: Object.
  6. For Object Type, click the select object button, then select the attribute from your drawing.
  7. Select Property: Value.

 

Thanks,

Jim

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube