AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-05-2005
Message 1 of 5 (466 Views)
Accepted Solution

Duplicate Attribute (echo)

466 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 02:25 AM

I have a drawing template (block) where the drawing number is displayed in two locations (attributes). The same value has to be entered in both attributes.

 

Is there any way of "echoing" the data from one attribute to other attributes (or text objects)?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,597
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (457 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

11-16-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: thebeesnees

Hi,

 

using fields can do that (>>>details<<<).

Check the attached drawing with one sample block inserted. Change it's attribute "ORIG" and after that do a _REGEN.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-05-2005
Message 3 of 5 (451 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

11-16-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Almost perfect.

 

Only minor issue is that the second attribute (COPY) can be overwritten accidentally. Would be ideal if the second attribute could be hidden or protected although I don't think it is possible.

 

Does the job though, thanks for your help.

 

Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (91 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

02-13-2014 11:53 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Ok, nice example. But how did you do it?

Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 5 of 5 (84 Views)

Re: Duplicate Attribute (echo)

02-13-2014 03:17 PM in reply to: cvc-it-mb

Found it... I was unclear on the step-by-step.

 

  1. Create a single attribute.
  2. Create an MText object or another Attribute.
  3. Within the editor, open the shortcut menu (right-click in edit-box) and select insert field.
  4. Field Category: Objects
  5. Field Names: Object.
  6. For Object Type, click the select object button, then select the attribute from your drawing.
  7. Select Property: Value.

 

Thanks,

Jim

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube