AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 1 of 10 (283 Views)
Accepted Solution

Drawing from Hatches

283 Views, 9 Replies
01-09-2013 07:46 AM

I may be imaging it. I started with AutoCAD 9. That means I'm my 60s now. I forget things now.

But I thought that until recently, that I could draw a line from parts of a hatch.

I could draw a line perpendicular to a hatch line.

Or, I could draw a line from an intersection of hatch lines.

Well, I sure can't now.

Did I change a setting?

Or have I imagined being able to do such?

Any help?

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 2 of 10 (281 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

You still can, in OPTIONS

Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 3 of 10 (273 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

Yesterday, I spent nearly an hour exploring "Options".

There are many settings.

I messed things up trying different ones.

So, I still don't have any idea where in Options to go.

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 4 of 10 (268 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

You can change the variable OSOPTIONS

 

0

Object snaps operate on hatch objects, and on geometry with negative Z values when using a dynamic UCS

1

Object snaps ignore hatch objects

2

Object snaps ignore geometry with negative Z values during use of a dynamic UCS

Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 5 of 10 (261 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks. OSOPTIONS had been set to "3".

Setting it back to "0" cured the problem.

So, I now know of OSOPTIONS, but, I still can't find it in OPTIONS.

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 6 of 10 (255 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

Options, Drafting Tab, uncheck the box.

Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 7 of 10 (248 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-09-2013 08:35 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks again.

Now it seems so obvious, but I just never "saw" that button.

But now, for the better, I now know about OSOPTIONS and I can write a lisp to turn the settings "on" or "off".

Again, thanks for your help.

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 8 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-11-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

So, I need further help.

I keep getting an e-mail from AutoDESK asking if my question has been solved.

If it has been solved, I'm instructed click "here".

I click on it and it takes back to the original question display.

I cannot find out where to click to indicate the question has been solved.

Any help out there? -KLYPH

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,222
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 9 of 10 (177 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-11-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

It depends on the Browser you use.

Firefox shows but Google Chrome won't

Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Message 10 of 10 (147 Views)

Re: Drawing from Hatches

01-14-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

Thanks for your reply. That is our problem; we're using Google Chrome.

I'll check with our Tech Guy.

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube