AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
cvc-it-mb
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 1 of 6 (1,356 Views)
Accepted Solution

Distance rubber band line is black?

1356 Views, 5 Replies
05-24-2011 11:07 AM

One drawing we have has a weird quirk. The rubber band line for the Distance command is black. The background of our AutoCAD is also black, which makes it very hard to see. This only seems to affect the Distance command as the rubber band for the Line command is grey (though the current layer is yellow).

 

I have confirmed this is limited to just one drawing, no matter what machine you open it on. The AutoCAD version we are using is Civil 3D 2011.

 

I have checked the following: DRAGMODE (auto), HIGHLIGHT (1), restored colors to default, made sure 3D views were not on, rendering off, UCS set to world.

 

Next step? Repairing the AutoCAD installation is not likely to fix the problem.

 

Thanks!

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,345 Views)

Re: Distance rubber band line is black?

05-24-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: cvc-it-mb

Change the color of layer 0 (zero) back to white.

Active Contributor
cvc-it-mb
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,314 Views)

Re: Distance rubber band line is black?

05-24-2011 01:26 PM in reply to: Johneng

Thanks for the heads up.....

That wasn't exactly the problem though. Layer 0 was white, but it was frozen. Unfreezing it fixed it.

 

Why oh why is Layer 0 tied to so many arbitrary things!

Contributor
PeteMiller
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-18-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,057 Views)

Re: Distance rubber band line is black?

08-03-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: cvc-it-mb

Question, I'm running Autocad Mechanical 2011, the Distance "rubber-band" line doesn't show up at all, I've tried all the suggested fixes here to no avail. Is there a setting for changing the color of the rubber band? I'm running with a 'gray' (i.e. #253 color back ground) nothing I've tried affects it. Any help would be appreceated.

Active Contributor
cvc-it-mb
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 5 of 6 (1,052 Views)

Re: Distance rubber band line is black?

08-03-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: PeteMiller

Does it only affect 1 drawing?

 

Layer 0 is color white, and not frozen in Model space or Viewport?

Contributor
PeteMiller
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-18-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,044 Views)

Re: Distance rubber band line is black?

08-03-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: cvc-it-mb

No, its in all drawings, layer 0 is not frozen and the color is white.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube