AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
drc_ol
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 1 of 19 (289 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimension lines

289 Views, 18 Replies
02-20-2014 06:38 AM

Hi,

I am having troubles with my dimensions lines. I am using blocks and dimension constraints
in objects with dimensions lines associates and grabbed by snap to this objects.
The problem is when i move my objects, everything follows unless the dimension lines who stays in their originals positions,
who is strange because regularly they follow the alterations made. Someone may know why?

 

Regards,

David

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 19 (266 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-20-2014 10:31 AM in reply to: drc_ol
A very basic question: are you using osnaps to 'snap' the dimensions to the objects?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
drc_ol
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 3 of 19 (254 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-21-2014 12:24 AM in reply to: pendean

Yes, of course. I attach a really simple example to demonstrate what happens. What am i doing wrong?

I know it must be simple..

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,396
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 19 (227 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-21-2014 07:35 AM in reply to: drc_ol

It appears that some points are not in fact snapped to any objects.  I think you need to double check that.

 

Notice in the top version you have a dim of 116 and in the bottom version it's 216?  The right dim line is snapped to the box and the left side is not.  The 392 and 502 dims aren't snapped to it either.

 

AcadDims.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Active Contributor
drc_ol
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 5 of 19 (222 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-21-2014 08:22 AM in reply to: doni49

They are snapped to the object ( midpoint in vertical), i just did that to see if it wasn't the fact of two dimension lines snapped in the same point was causing the problem. I put it again in the angle and the same happens ( top scheme).

 

 

Exemplo.jpg

Active Contributor
vivifira
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-15-2014
Message 6 of 19 (213 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-21-2014 09:34 AM in reply to: drc_ol

I think you might want to look at the pad spacing for the dim. Look in the properities for vertical and horizontal spacing. I noticed the dead space between the 1 in 116 is about the same as the dead space for the 2 in 216. the only difference I see is that the 2 is wider than the 1.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 19 (205 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-21-2014 01:23 PM in reply to: drc_ol
Post a DWG file please, not a useless picture.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
drc_ol
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 8 of 19 (198 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-24-2014 01:50 AM in reply to: pendean

I don't find this pad spacing in the properties of dimstyle. Could you be more specific?

I attached a .dwg file, but if you try this example in your Autocad the dimensions go along with the objects?

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,572
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 9 of 19 (179 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-24-2014 09:11 AM in reply to: drc_ol
Turn ANNOMONITOR on by setting it to 2 (or pick the AM button at the bottom middle of your screen. If you see yellow warning symbols then you haven't snapped to the object and it is floating in space.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 10 of 19 (173 Views)

Re: Dimension lines

02-24-2014 09:40 AM in reply to: drc_ol

drc_ol wrote:

They are snapped to the object ( midpoint in vertical), i just did that to see if it wasn't the fact of two dimension lines snapped in the same point was causing the problem. I put it again in the angle and the same happens ( top scheme).

 

 

 


MIDPoint is a derived Osnap.  Generally speaking using Osnaps that tie to geometry features of an object (ENDPoint, NODe, CENter) are more reliable IME

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube