AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
RobDraw
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
Message 1 of 7 (410 Views)

Default LTSCALE

410 Views, 6 Replies
01-29-2013 09:17 AM

Not sure when this started but we've recently noticed that the default LTSCALE for AutoCAD 2011 is set to 0.5. We recently made the switch from a much older version. This setting does not make sense to me. Why would any setting other than 1.0 be the default. Is this their way of fixing the long time problem that we had to use the "2" versions of the included lintypes in order for them to appear correctly?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,213
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 7 (406 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: RobDraw

LTSCALE variable is stored in the drawing.

You should check your Template drawing.

Active Member
RobDraw
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
Message 3 of 7 (405 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: RobDraw

Really? (runs off to check) Oh yeah, that is what I am talking about. It is set to 0.5. Now can you answer the question that I posted?

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,134
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (393 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: RobDraw

RobDraw wrote:

Why would any setting other than 1.0 be the default. Is this their way of fixing the long time problem that we had to use the "2" versions of the included lintypes in order for them to appear correctly?


Because maybe that makes the linetypes appear correctly? It's really impossible to answer because everyone will do something a bit different.  Some people may use 1, others 0.5, others 2?

 

Ours is set to 0.5 (MSLTSCALE = 1, and PSLTSCALE = 1 also), mainly because we use a lot of custom linetypes that were defined years and years ago and that is the way they were set up.

 

 

 

 

Active Member
RobDraw
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
Message 5 of 7 (393 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: RobDraw

I can understand changing it from the default to suit your needs but what I don't understand why the default OOTB would be anything other than one.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,095
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 7 (373 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 02:59 PM in reply to: RobDraw

Our OOTB DWT templates for AutoCAD 2011 are all LTSCALE = 1.0 ...

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
RobDraw
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
Message 7 of 7 (370 Views)

Re: Default LTSCALE

01-29-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: RobDraw

Further investigation reveals it is 0.5 for vertical products.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube