AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
mrkaplan
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 31 of 58 (295 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 01:34 AM in reply to: zzz144

about dimensions and leaders

this has nothing to do with inventor . it is simple 2d annotation issue .

and i do think that dimension styles should include mleaders or updated leaders  .  ( no need for 2 different types of leaders )  would be a lot more logical and more simple for users 

Valued Mentor
acwtzwegers
Posts: 373
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 32 of 58 (291 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 02:33 AM in reply to: zzz144

So, what I'm seeing here is that the issues brought up are completely disregarded and that instead people are ranting about icon sizes, XP, screen setups and other issues that are outside the scope of AutoCAD. Even within the same workflow it is possible to have different methods - some use commandline, some use quickkeys, pad', ribbon, icon toolbars, combinations etc... none of these are "wrong" and the nice thing about AutoCAD has always been that it supports them all - and still does. (so no, you cannot whine about the ribbon: you don't like it? Don't use it. Use one of the many other interface choices)

 

But yes, some of the issues brought up are actual issues and going ad hominem will not fix them either... just yelling "Inventor" won't either (I work for a company with a fully 2D product and AutoCAD still is a lot better for anything done here then Inventor will ever be - an electric screwdriver is a more advanced tool, but useless for nailing.)

 

- The parametrics are screwy (they disappear between saves, there seems to be conflicts between regular ones and those in the dynamic blocks etc.)

- Connected to that are the regular dimensions that completely miss the same functionality, meaning that you often end up redoing the work you already did with the constraints.

- The array dialog is definitely an issue that could be fixed with something like a system variable (and the same could apply for some things that suddenly gained a dialog box and didn't have them before).

- In some cases you will have to customize... yes 15 years is enough for you to have made your own hatches, plotstyles etc etc. Don't expect Autodesk to only supply to your particular industry and don't expect them to include all specialist options added to mechanical, electrical etc - not because "they want to sell more" but because all that stuff will just clutter the CAD for those that will never use them.

- Again: use the right tool for the job. Use a 3d solid modeller for 3d solid modelling. I for example never had an isue with AutoCAD rendering options because if I want renderings, I use 3D Studio or Maya or something else made for that. Don't expect your drawing board to suddenly become a photo camera - and if it does, don't expect the same results.

 

Member
WFrench28832
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Message 33 of 58 (278 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 05:41 AM in reply to: acwtzwegers

I agree with acwtzwegers.

If you're going to render why not get the right tool for that job? or If you're going to work in 3d why use AutoCAD?

The rendering in AutoCAD is so primitive compared to Max or Maya. If you're choosing to use the wrong tool, then it's not a software problem. He's also right about the ribbon...If you don't like it, turn it off. Thats exactly why AutoCAD is so popular, the different ways of interfacing with the program. I know guys that still use a tablet, becasue they like it.

 

AutoCAD is a really good Drafting package, plain and simple. It just happens to have a pretty good modeling kernel and an OK Rendering engine built into it. AutoCAD is definately not perfect. Yes...it takes customization, and yes the contraints are sort of screwy, but again...if you want constarints and are using them, you probably will be better off with Inventor. :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,629
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 34 of 58 (269 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 08:31 AM in reply to: zzz144
Clicking twice may mean you are not clicking and releasing the mouse click over the button: that's a windows feature (a great way to change your mind in mid click). Manusoft.com has a tool that overrides this OS behavior.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
zzz144
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 35 of 58 (260 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 09:45 AM in reply to: zzz144

acwtzwegers - pleae understand this. AutoCAD has now been designed around the ribbon - simply switching to toolbars makes certain things unavailable. Using the toolbars is great but its missing certain things that the ribbon has. The ribbon is too slow to use - you are moving the mouse in two directions and clicking twice to get to a command... I hope now you understand... Your approach "don't like it don't use" is retarded. I dont mean for that to be funny but i do mean it. What's next? dont like dimensioning - don't use it? WOW!!! 

 

WFrench28832 - I have the right tool for the job. I inteded to shoot in the nails and i got a nailgun that jams up every hour. Do you get it? I did not get a screwdriver or a hammer. And i do not want to buy a gang nailing machine. That is not the tool for my job. I dont like paying $1000 or more every year to simply see a few array functions improved. I paid assuming they would deliver. They did not deliver. The constarints suck.  I paid for them and they do not work. Get it? good. 

 

pendean - do you mean that you can just hower yourmouse over the tab without clicking and it opens up? Ok but i still have to move my mouse twice - for every single command - and time is money... I honestly dont know what autodesk was thinking... 

 

Autodesk - Are you spending autocad money on inventor? bad bad bad autodesk! 

Member
WFrench28832
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Message 36 of 58 (248 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 12:01 PM in reply to: zzz144
Yeah...I get it.... You're trying to use AutoCAD for rendering and 3d work and you're dissapointed with the results. You were crying about the ribbon (which can be shut off) and you hate the constraints. Several people made suggestions, which you don't like. You also seem to like nailing analogies, which is cute I guess. Is that about it...Anything else? . :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Contributor
zzz144
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 37 of 58 (238 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-22-2011 05:39 PM in reply to: WFrench28832

If you did get it you wouldnt find nailing cute... unless you swing the other way... which is not cute... I guess... 

 

lol hahahahahahhaaha :smileyhappy: 

Member
WFrench28832
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Message 38 of 58 (223 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-23-2011 04:40 AM in reply to: zzz144

Yeah....another big mouth moron behind a computer sceen.

 

You're too thick to understand the helpful replys, and now you're bagging on me, because you're unsure of your own sexuality? Whatever.

 

Maybe you should go back to pencil and paper if CAD is too hard for you. :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 39 of 58 (218 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-23-2011 06:17 AM in reply to: WFrench28832

Hi,

 

please ... remember to:

>> Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

None of your last messages have to do anything with the thread-title.

If we want to give Autodesk valuable info of how to make things better working, then do that with serious statements, please.

 

Merry Christmas, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 40 of 58 (207 Views)

Re: Dear Autodesk - Things you need to fix

12-23-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Jobs bless us, every one....

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube