AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
VB_Autocad_guy
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎07-24-2009
Message 1 of 21 (36,272 Views)

Copy to Clipboard failed

36272 Views, 20 Replies
02-09-2012 08:07 AM

I select an object,

then press Ctrl+C 

I get this error message

 

"Copy to clipboard failed"

Help please. 

 

 

~CLIPBOARD ERROR.png

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 21 (36,272 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

02-09-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: VB_Autocad_guy

List and see what it is, if it is AEC/proxy , no can do.

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 3 of 21 (35,915 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

02-14-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: Patchy

A coworker of mine just had the same problem.  What she was trying to copy to the clipboard was a block definition.  I went into the block to look for AEC objects, and none were found.

 

I ran the AUDIT and PURGE commands, and everything was clear

 

It turns out the block (a civil plan) had other blocks nested within.  I went into the main block through the block editor, exploded the nested blocks, and saved the main block

 

I ran the AUDIT and PURGE commands again, and this time it found a whole whack of errors.  

 

Once they were clear, I was able to copy the objects to the clipboard

Distinguished Contributor
VB_Autocad_guy
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎07-24-2009
Message 4 of 21 (35,902 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

02-14-2012 12:25 PM in reply to: Patchy

What is AEC/Proxy? Can you expound? 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 21 (35,871 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

02-14-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: VB_Autocad_guy

Example of Civil AEC objects:

With plain autocad polylines are polylines, but in Civil, polylines can be convert to AEC Contours, they hold locations, elevations so when you make a cross section trough them, the program generates hills and valleys and calculates cut / fill of how much dirt, etc......

Mentor
DSM_dude
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 6 of 21 (35,812 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

02-16-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: Patchy

I've ran into this problem when trying to copy annotative objects.

Cad Blog:
http://geauxcad.wordpress.com/
Active Contributor
JF_005
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Message 7 of 21 (34,455 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

06-19-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: DSM_dude

I just got this bug today for the very fisrt time (in AutoCAD 2012).

 

I tried to Copy/Paste a BlockReference (for a title block filled with attributes). So I went in Block Editor to check if I could Copy all the entities that way and it worked. So in my case the problem was not the BlockDefenition so I closed the Block Editor.Then I did a "ATTSYNC" command to reset the faulty BlockReference. And after that the Copy/Paste did not failed! :smileyhappy:

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
VB_Autocad_guy
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎07-24-2009
Message 8 of 21 (34,449 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

06-19-2012 02:16 PM in reply to: JF_005

Ah Hah... Not the only one. So Bizare. 

Distinguished Contributor
VB_Autocad_guy
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎07-24-2009
Message 9 of 21 (33,965 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

07-17-2012 10:46 AM in reply to: VB_Autocad_guy

Anyone figured out this problem? 

I've never been able to figure it out. 

Member
erhard.ehrke
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 10 of 21 (33,146 Views)

Re: Copy to Clipboard failed

08-26-2012 06:16 AM in reply to: VB_Autocad_guy

Just happend to me - a rare problem. I've tried purging and recovering the drawing without success. Then saved to R12 DXF, closed it, opend the DXF, saved to current 2013 DWG and the problem went. After correcting some settings and defining new layouts the model id fine.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube