AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
gazza777
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-08-2013
Message 1 of 11 (298 Views)
Accepted Solution

Copy font settings from one installation to another

298 Views, 10 Replies
09-09-2013 12:09 AM

Hi,

 

I recently moved a user to a new PC and setup AutoCAD 2011 after resetting the license through the helpdesk. All works well, however when the user opens her drawings created in the old installation, all the fonts are too big and possibly the wrong type. There are other installations in the office which open the same files/drawings and the fonts/tect appears perfect.

 

So the question is, how do I transfer the settings from an existing installation, or better yet, how do I specifiy the default font for all drawings?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 11 (293 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 03:35 AM in reply to: gazza777

Hi,

 

welcome @forums.autodesk.com !

 

First I would open the drawing, start command _STYLE and look to the fonts used in that drawing and which of them look wrong..

Next step is to verify:

a) do the fonts exist

b) if they exist, are that the same ones

...then you can copy those fonts from the old workstation to the new one.

 

Don't forget that AutoCAD can use 2 different font-types, the SHX files (that are placed in AutoCAD folders) and TTF (true type fonts) that have to be installed in windows (C:\Windows\Fonts).

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
gazza777
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-08-2013
Message 3 of 11 (289 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 04:15 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Hi



Thanx for the reponse, to answer your questions:





a) do the fonts exist - YES

b) if they exist, are that the same ones - YES, we copied all the fonts from
the Fonts directory of the old PC onto the new PC.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 04:18 AM in reply to: gazza777

Hi,

 

>> we copied all the fonts from the Fonts directory of the old PC onto the new PC.

if the fonts are TTF's, did you only copy them or really installed them "right-click ==> install"? Because TTF's have to be installed and not just copied.

Or are they all SHX-files?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
gazza777
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-08-2013
Message 5 of 11 (275 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi,

 

They are all SHX font files. Do they need to be setup or initiallised? 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 11 (273 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: gazza777

Hi,

 

>> They are all SHX font files. Do they need to be setup or initiallised?

No, the only thing to mention about SHX is that AutoCAD should be able to find them. To verify that start command _OPTIONS, goto tab "Files" and check that the path of the font-directory is listed under "Support File Search Path".

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 11 (270 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 08:13 AM in reply to: gazza777
Can you better define "too big"?
is it more like they are just scaled wrong? as in the user has the wrong annotative scale selected for their AQnnotative text style in their drawing?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
gazza777
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-08-2013
Message 8 of 11 (267 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 08:27 AM in reply to: pendean

Its a bit difficult as I'm the go between between the forum here and the user. 

 

Just to be clear, when this user opens the exact same file, on other computer in the office, the text displays perfectly without making any adjustments.

 

Answering Alfred, we checked thaty the font-directory is listed under "Support File Search Path" and indeed it is. 

 

I read somewhere that you have to create a predefined set of values to ensure all drawings are opened with the same font? 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,090
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 11 (260 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 10:20 AM in reply to: gazza777

gazza777 wrote:

Just to be clear, when this user opens the exact same file, on other computer in the office, the text displays perfectly without making any adjustments.

 


On the machine where the text appears "wrong", close down AutoCAD and then reopen it (to a new blank drawing).

Type in FONTALT and set it to "." (a period)

Now open the drawing where the text appears "wrong".

Any difference?

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,924
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 10 of 11 (259 Views)

Re: Copy font settings from one installation to another

09-09-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: gazza777

It might be simpler if the user jumped in directly, instead of being filtered through another person.:smileywink:

 

>>I read somewhere that you have to create a predefined set of values to ensure all drawings are opened with the same font? 

 

No, that's not the case, the STYLE definition that is stored in the drawing dictates what Font file to use when displaying the text.    There is a FONTALT system variable, but that only comes into play whent the font called for by the Style defintion is missing.  so if the requisit fonts exist, and ca be located, then that should not be an issue.

 

There a a couple of ways to check though -- type FONTALT at a command line porompt in Acad, and set it to GOTHICG.SHX.  Close and re-open the drawing.  If the questionable text now displays in a 'Ye Olde English' blackletter font, then the needed font is not being located, and a substiture is being used.

 

You could also key in (findfile "myfont.shx")  substituing the name of the font that's supposed to be used for the myfont.shx.  Parentheses and quote marks are required.....

 

 

 

The template drawing (DWT) should normally include all the compoany defined and standardized STYLE definitions - so ant drawing started from a given template starts out the same settings, but they can be changed over the course of time in any active drawing.

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube