AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
karenhamilton
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Message 1 of 6 (276 Views)

Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

276 Views, 5 Replies
01-04-2012 08:42 AM

Since the LT version doesn't have Express Tools, is there a way to convert dtext to mtext?   Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 2 of 6 (273 Views)

Re: Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

01-04-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: karenhamilton

The only thing I can think of is to start an Mtext object and then copy all of your Dtext objects into it...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,125
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 6 (246 Views)

Re: Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

01-04-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: karenhamilton

None unless you want to spend the time copying and pasting between the editors: open two sessions of AutoCAD, MTEXT in the first session (so you can SAVE), and the same file in the second session (it does not need to save). That way you don't have to stop and restart each editor.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
vakhtang
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 4 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

01-05-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: pendean

you can also copy dtext to word document, and the copy it from word to mtext window.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,233
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (227 Views)

Re: Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

01-05-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: karenhamilton

If I have to do this for many drawings I would get  30 days trial.

Too painful to copy paste

Active Member
karenhamilton
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Message 6 of 6 (223 Views)

Re: Converting dtext to mtext in AutoCAD 2010 Lt

01-05-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: karenhamilton

That IS a solution but it almost seems easier to just retype my text.  I would only need to convert short phrases anyway.

Thanks.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.