AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Spiritshifterus
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Message 1 of 4 (268 Views)

Checkmarking boxes

268 Views, 3 Replies
12-06-2012 12:01 PM

Good afternoon, all.

 

I have a question I'd like to ask. I recently learned about Fields, though I don't know if it can perform what I'd like to happen. I have created a chart with simple CADD geometry, and at the top of this chart are two boxes (polyline elements). For any case where I use this chart, only one of the two boxes will have a checkmark inside of it.

 

Is there a way that I can add a field-like element/action so all I have to do is toggle between one box or the other?

 

Thank you to all who look at this message, and happy holidays.

 

Chris Martin

 

P.S.: While I'm asking about toggling, please let me ask this too. If toggling is possible, can it also affect turning on or off a nearby relative text element?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 4 (254 Views)

Re: Checkmarking boxes

12-06-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: Spiritshifterus

Hi,

 

I would test this with a dynamic block having two visibility states (>>>click<<<).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Spiritshifterus
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Message 3 of 4 (241 Views)

Re: Checkmarking boxes

12-06-2012 02:10 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Dear Mr. Neswadba,

 

I would prefer to not make my chart into a dynamic block of any kind, if it is absolutely avoidable. Thank you for your idea, though; it is one I considered several times today.

 

It is that this chart is too complex for multiple visibility states to work properly, in my opinion. To make the basic frame into a block, I would need 6 visibility parameters just to show each individual option. Plus, the height of the chart can vary with each different time I use it, as well as interior symbols I have at the chart's core. And the last detail of all, that makes me decide against blocking it, is that the chart requires totalling up of values, so I have a table element beneath it all, which I still have to modify every time I use the chart (row counts, etc.).

 

Maybe I shall look into the block idea again tomorrow. Thank you for your suggestion.

 

Chris Martin

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 4 (193 Views)

Re: Checkmarking boxes

12-07-2012 09:33 PM in reply to: Spiritshifterus

You wouldn't need to turn the whole chart into a dynamic block at all to make this work.  Simply create a new block with the two simple on/off visibility parameters Alfred suggested and insert it into the chart.

 

Dave

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube