AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 1 of 9 (283 Views)

Changing the Inch symbol location

283 Views, 8 Replies
12-13-2012 11:11 AM

Is there a way to change the location of the Inch symbol next to a stacked fraction?  As it is the symbol is aligned with the number to the left of the fraction and appears to low and odd (see attached).  I would prefer it closr to the top of the numerator.

 

Thanks,

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 2 of 9 (276 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

Of course

Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 3 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 11:42 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks Patchy, but that's Mtext rather than a dimension.  I'd like to have the inch symbol higher in a dimension that has a stacked fraction, but normal when it doesn't.

 

Thanks,

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 4 of 9 (258 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

I have not seen one done for dimension, I guess no options :smileysad:

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 9 (248 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

I've always preferred the look of the diagonal stacked fraction.  Maybe it's because the inch mark works better with it...

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 854
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 6 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

If you set the "Fraction Height Scale" to 0.5 it works well.  Your fraction is a total of your text height though so the numbers are half of what the leading number's size.

Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 7 of 9 (229 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: steve216586

Hi Steve,

 

Thanks for the suggestion, but still not what I'm looking for.  We generally use reduced size prints and the smaller scale is difficult to read.

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
hmsilva
Posts: 2,679
Registered: ‎12-17-2004
Message 8 of 9 (215 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 03:59 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

jonmcfarlandWS wrote:

Is there a way to change the location of the Inch symbol next to a stacked fraction?  As it is the symbol is aligned with the number to the left of the fraction and appears to low and odd (see attached).  I would prefer it closr to the top of the numerator.

 

Attached is a lisp I wrote now that does what you want.

Try it, is minimally tested...

if you're not used to dealing with lisp files,

Save the file in a Support File Search Path directory, Load it with "appload" command, then type Inch2top to run the code...

 

hope that helps

Henrique

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 9 of 9 (208 Views)

Re: Changing the Inch symbol location

12-13-2012 04:50 PM in reply to: hmsilva

Fantastic solution

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube