AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
mewescott
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 1 of 8 (578 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

578 Views, 7 Replies
09-25-2012 03:47 AM

I am using Autocad Electrical and I have an attribute name INST for the installation code in multiple blocks in my drawings.  Is there a command out there that can change the font of just that attribute to Arial through out the drawing.  I do not want to change any of the other attributes and they all use the same style.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 8 (566 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-25-2012 05:32 AM in reply to: mewescott

BATTMAN command: you may need to use ATTSYNC afterwards too.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
mewescott
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 3 of 8 (558 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-25-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: pendean

How would you use Battman to change multiple blocks at the same time.  I tried to select several first then go into the command unfortunately it only selects one Block.  I have multiple blocks on each drawing with the same INST attribute.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 8 (546 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-25-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: mewescott

I did not realize from your post this was the same exact attribute tag in ALL or many blocks in your file. You will need to dive into more customizing with Lisp unless someone has a freeware to do what you seek.

 

While you wait here consider also posting in the Customization Discussion area:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Visual-LISP-AutoLISP-and-General/bd-p/130

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
Norrisc761
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 5 of 8 (527 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-26-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: pendean

Please excuse my possible ignorance (I may be misunderstanding the problem), but can't you just edit the attribute in Block Editor? Then it would redefine all the blocks in the dwg.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 8 (511 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-27-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: Norrisc761

That's for one block at a time, the OP seems to be indicating all his blocks (A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and so on if these were block names) all have this one common shared attribute name and they do not wish to edit each block separately in each DWG file.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
mewescott
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 7 of 8 (503 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-27-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: pendean

That is the case I do have multiple blocks with the same attribute name that I want to change the font on.  I have received a solution to my posting in the posting I put on the Autocad Electrica forum.  Pat Muren created a custom lisp file and script that worked like a charm.  To view the posting go to:  http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Electrical/Change-the-font-of-the-Installation-code-through-ou...

 

Thank you for assistance.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 8 (492 Views)

Re: Change font of named Attribute through out drawing

09-27-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: mewescott

Thanks for sharing, and the follow-up.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube