AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
Santos1503
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 1 of 11 (738 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't constrain text

738 Views, 10 Replies
03-18-2011 06:08 AM

I can only get text to constrain to objects if I use auto constrain.  If I try to do it manually, I get a message that I have selected an invalid object.  I have tried text and Mtext and get the same message with both.  I've tried finding a tutorial online that shows how to constrain text, but I can only find sites where it says it can be done, not how to do it.  Any suggestions?

Active Contributor
lxpichet
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Message 2 of 11 (733 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 06:55 AM in reply to: Santos1503

Hi,

 

I have had the exact same issue so I stopped hoping that constraints would work on mtext! Lets see if 2012 will have that issue corrected. See the print screen for what it does to me when I try to manually apply constraint to an mtext:

 

Mtextdonotmanuallyconstraint.jpg

Louis-Xavier Pichet
*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 3 of 11 (715 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 07:46 AM in reply to: Santos1503

Try selecting the object, not the text, first.

Active Contributor
Santos1503
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 4 of 11 (712 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 07:56 AM in reply to: nestly

I do select the object first.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 5 of 11 (710 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: Santos1503
Active Contributor
lxpichet
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Message 6 of 11 (708 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 08:04 AM in reply to: Santos1503

Hi nestly,

 

I tried all ways around, changed all my variables related to texts, mtexts and parametrics looking forward to find the good combination. Even when service pack arrived I tried over and over again and it is still not working on my side.

 

Would you mind post a sample cad file with working constrained Mtext? What are the exacts steps you use?

 

Thanks and regards,

Louis-Xavier Pichet
Active Contributor
Santos1503
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 7 of 11 (694 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 08:17 AM in reply to: nestly

After I select the point on the line, I go to the text & the red marker for the insertion point does not appear like it did in your screencast, so it will not let me pick the text object.  I've hovered all over the object & just let the cursor sit over the text, but the marker never appears.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,155
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 11 (683 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 08:32 AM in reply to: Santos1503

watch the video again, the demo starts by turning off Infer Constraints: seems to work as shown here.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
Santos1503
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 9 of 11 (680 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 08:42 AM in reply to: pendean

Figured it out.  I did have inferred constraints off, but it will not work with annotative text.  I made a new text style that is not annotative & then it works.  Next item for wish list is to have text constraints work with annotative text.  Thanks for your input.

 

Note to all who are looking at this post to solve this problem.  Annotative text can be constrained, you just need to auto constrain it, you can not do it manually.  Otherwise, edit the properties of the text, turn annotative off, constrain the text & then turn annotative back on.  A few steps but it is a work around.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 10 of 11 (676 Views)

Re: Can't constrain text

03-18-2011 08:44 AM in reply to: lxpichet

Are you working in 2D or 3D?  Perhaps AutoCAD cannot find the insertion point for the text because it doesn't reside on the same plane as the first object?

 

*Edit

I see Santos figured it out.  I don't use annotative text, and I didn't know about that limitation.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.