AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 1 of 11 (880 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Triangles

880 Views, 10 Replies
10-17-2012 07:53 AM

I've experienced this bug for years, through multiple versions of AutoCAD, but it's finally bugged me enough to make a post about it to see if anyone else can re-create the problem.  The issue is that MATCHPROP does not work when matching the properties of something to the inside of an equilateral/isosceles triangle.  You can select the hatch by itself and match from it, but not select something else and match to it.

 

Steps to re-create issue:
1.  Open a new drawings and create an equilateral or isoceles triangle using lines, polylines, or the POLYGON command

2.  Create a solid hatch inside the triangle (associative or not, doesn't matter)

3.  Select that hatch and copy it off to the side; change the properties of the copied hatch to something else

4.  Select the copied hatch, enter MATCHPROP, and try to match the original hatch bounded by your triangle lines

 

If you run into the same problem as me, you can't select the original hatch to match the properties.  The work-around I have to do is to move the linework or hatch out of the way of the other so I can select the hatch from its edge.

Does this bug affect anyone else?

 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Valued Contributor
Rick-K
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 2 of 11 (875 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: nrz13

Yep.

 

Rick

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 3 of 11 (863 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: nrz13

It probably seems like a pretty esoteric situation, but it comes up every time I'm hatching a gable on a rendered elevation.

Ordinarily, I'd say this is a bug that Autodesk will never address, but they have made progress with hatches and hatch selection over the last few releases, so maybe they'll get around to this one if it's reported.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Valued Contributor
Rick-K
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 4 of 11 (859 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: nrz13

I never used the matchprop that autocad made.

 

I guess this happens with other triangles as well?

 

Or I guess you have alot of steep slopes.

 

Rick

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 5 of 11 (851 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: Rick-K

I haven't noticed a problem with other triangles, but all standard gables would fall under the isoceles triangle category (two sides and two angles the same).


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Valued Contributor
Rick-K
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 6 of 11 (847 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 01:44 PM in reply to: nrz13

I missed the isosceles part. Just tried the equilateral triangle.

 

Rick

Valued Contributor
Rick-K
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 7 of 11 (843 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: nrz13

Do you know about the selection cycle pick thing?

 

Where if you have one object over another to cycle between them you can hold down the Ctrl key and pick...pick...pick..

and it will cycle through the entities.

 

Well if you try this with your hatch and pick at the edge it will cycle & pick the hatch. just press return after it highlights.

 

BTW.. they changed how this works in Ver 2013, but you can change it back.

 

Rick

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 8 of 11 (840 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-17-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: Rick-K

I've not used selection cycling before, but it doesn't appear to work for me when I'm in the middle of the MATCHPROP command.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Valued Contributor
Rick-K
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 9 of 11 (824 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-18-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: nrz13

Your 2012 version is shift+space to cycle through the "stacked" entities.

I thought this changed at 2013 but my 2012 version needs shift+space.

I tried shif+space bar in 2012 and it works.

 

Try it again with shift+space bar and pick the edge of the hatch that will not select.

If it does not select the hatch on the first click just click again (you shouldnt have to hold any keys down for additional clicks). It should select the hatch.

 

If you prefer the old (legacy) method as I do, you can switch the LEGACYCTRLPICK variable to 1 and AutoCAD will behave as in the older versions." Then it is just ctrl+pick.

 

If I didnt explain it well enough I'll try again just let me know.

 

Rick

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 10 of 11 (818 Views)

Re: Can't Match Properties to Solid Hatch Inside Equilateral & Isosceles Tri

10-18-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: Rick-K

That's great!  I can't believe I never used that (I knew of it, but just never used it).  In most scenarios for me, I just use my keyboard shortcut to send an object to the back when the layer order doesn't matter, but with hatches it does matter so I couldn't do that.  I took your tip on the legacy selection because it's fewer keys to press.

 

Thanks for the tip, Rick!

 

(Of course, as usual, it'd still be easiest if Autodesk fixed the solid hatch selection!)


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.