AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,221
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 11 of 23 (772 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 03:58 AM in reply to: bart.ribbers

That seems to be the source of the problem, without 3.5 it will crash.

(I went thru the same with 2006 and 2008) reformat and reinstall would fix the problem.

 

my Win7 64 bit has both installed.

Contributor
bart.ribbers
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 12 of 23 (765 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 04:38 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Well I deinstalled Framework 4 yesterday, but when I tried to install Framework 3.5 it did nothing... I tried the basic setup and the extended one, and the extended one just unpacked something (which I can't find on the spot it unpacked it) and then did also nothing. So I installed Framework 4 again so I know for sure everything else works.

I'll try to install 3.5 again while I have 4 installed.

 

And I believe I don't even have C:\ProgramData\. But i'm at school right now so I will check when i'm back home.

Distinguished Contributor
Dazzman
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 13 of 23 (750 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 08:51 AM in reply to: Patchy

C:\ProgramData is a hidden folder you may need to change your folder view setting to be able to see it.

Contributor
bart.ribbers
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 14 of 23 (747 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 08:56 AM in reply to: Dazzman

Thanks i've found it. So I deleted the CascadeInfo.cas but nothing has changed.

And i'm still not able to install Framework 3.5 somehow... I run the setup, it asks for permissions, and then dissapears without doing anything. The full package and just the setup do the same thing.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,221
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 15 of 23 (742 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 09:51 AM in reply to: Patchy

Find the file called

acad.exe.config should be in the same folder as acad.exe

open it with notepad, what does it say in the line

    <supportedRuntime version=" ?????????????????????"/>

Contributor
bart.ribbers
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 16 of 23 (729 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 12:59 PM in reply to: Patchy

It says "<supportedRuntime version="v4.0"/>"

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,221
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 17 of 23 (727 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-16-2011 01:24 PM in reply to: Patchy

Got to install that 3.5 in there.

 

1.  Clean up your TEMP folder by go to:     Start,  Run,  type in:        %temp%

2.  If there are any anti-virus or antispyware applications running, turned them off

3.  Right click on the 3.5 SP1.exe and run it as Administrator.

 

Write back and let me know how it went.

Contributor
bart.ribbers
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 18 of 23 (704 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-18-2011 10:56 AM in reply to: Patchy

After searching for a while, I found out my computer has Framework 1, 2, 3.5, and 4 installed, it just shows only 4 in "Programs and Features".

I cleaned the TEMP folder, turned my anti-virus off (even deinstalled it), but still no change.

I'm going to make a clean install of my computer, it sometimes helps, and maybe it also fixes some other things.

I'll tell you if it helped when the clean install is done.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,221
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 19 of 23 (701 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-18-2011 10:59 AM in reply to: bart.ribbers

change v4 in acad.exe.config to 3.5###### as it shows in the Add or Remove Program , shut down and restart PC

before doing anything else

Contributor
bart.ribbers
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 20 of 23 (697 Views)

Re: CAD shuts down at startup

12-18-2011 11:04 AM in reply to: Patchy

I'm not able to, it says "Please check whether if this file is opened in another program".

I've checked in progresses but no AutoDesk program is running.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube