AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dknaggert
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎01-26-2004
Message 1 of 5 (401 Views)

Barrel Cam - to sweep or not to sweep

401 Views, 4 Replies
03-11-2012 08:45 AM

Hi,

I am trying to design a barrel cam. This works well with lofting, but I am not so sure about the mathematical accuracy. I am used to making cams like this with 1/4 degrees resolution - much too cumbersome in lofting. Is there a way with "_sweep" to constrain the profile (2d polyline) so that it stays e.g. parallel with the Z-axis?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,181
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (391 Views)

Re: Barrel Cam - to sweep or not to sweep

03-11-2012 10:40 AM in reply to: dknaggert

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Import-3Dpoly/td-p/3366615

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 5 (383 Views)

Re: Barrel Cam - to sweep or not to sweep

03-11-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: dknaggert

Hi,

 

>> Is there a way with "_sweep" to constrain the profile (2d polyline)

You can generate the curves with _SPLINE or _HELIX (German: SPIRALE :smileywink: ) to be used for _SURFNETWORK (FLÄCHENNETZ).

Look to my drawing, left side is prepared data, right side is after running _SURFNETWORK.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
dknaggert
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎01-26-2004
Message 4 of 5 (361 Views)

Re: Barrel Cam - to sweep or not to sweep

03-12-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Well, as nice as that sounds it is moot, however, since I can't open your drawing. I only have Autocad 2006 installed and did this on somebody elses machine, just to try it out, but thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 5 (353 Views)

Re: Barrel Cam - to sweep or not to sweep

03-12-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: dknaggert

Hi,

 

>> it is moot, however, since I can't open your drawing. I only have Autocad 2006

Sorry, here is the AutoCAD2011-forum and you haven't mentioned that you need it for 2006.

Anyway, imho Udo at www.cad.de has also shown you the steps to go (I think it's the same project, isn't it?).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube