AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
ram.d
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 1 of 7 (5,400 Views)

BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

5400 Views, 6 Replies
06-01-2010 10:58 PM
What is the major difference between BYLAYER and BYBLOCK of Object Properties, when using Block?

-------
Ram.D
--------------
Regards,
Ram.D
New Member
Scott_Oz
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 7 (5,400 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-02-2010 12:50 AM in reply to: ram.d
As you know BYLAYER means an object will get its property from the value assigned for that property to the layer.

BYBLOCK however applies specifically to the elements of a block. The attribute value of the element is the one assigned to the block.

For example.

A line within a block with colour BYLAYER on layer "Linework" gets the colour assigned to layer "Linework"
A line within a block with colour BYBLOCK on layer "Linework" gets the colour assigned to the block.
A line within a block on layer 0 with colour BYLAYER gets the colour of the layer the block is inserted on.

I hope I explained that OK
*Matt Kolberg
Message 3 of 7 (5,400 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-02-2010 08:55 AM in reply to: ram.d
In addition to Scott's post:

Objects within a block whose colour is BYLAYER and whose layer is 0 inherit
the colour of the layer on which the block is placed. Insert the block on a
red layer and those objects turn red.
If their colour is BYBLOCK, same thing happens.

The difference:
The BYLAYER block; if you force colour green on that block even though the
layer is red, the objects will still only be red - bylayer.
The BYBLOCK block; those things will turn green - takes the colour of the
block.

--
Matt Kolberg
Global CADD Systems - A division of Cansel
Active Contributor
ram.d
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 7 (5,400 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-03-2010 03:41 AM in reply to: ram.d
Is there any websites with tutorial to understand the flow. Edited by: ram.d on Jun 3, 2010 4:10 PM
--------------
Regards,
Ram.D
New Member
Scott_Oz
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 5 of 7 (5,400 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-03-2010 03:50 AM in reply to: ram.d
Check the AutoCAD help, that will tell you all you need to know I'd reckon
*Nathan
Message 6 of 7 (5,400 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-03-2010 06:14 AM in reply to: ram.d
If you want a strict 'colour only ever by layer' scheme then you would set
all entities ByLayer.
They can't then be overridden.
This might be suited for a large organisation with a strict layer for every
conceivable setting and don't want drafters doing their own thing.

If you want extra flexibilty to alter if required then set ByBlock. Good for
small operators who want flexibility if req'd but introduces possiblity of
rogue operators though they would probably just explode the block! (give
them their pink slip)

Ideal is when creating your block, set all entities on Layer 0 and all
ByBlock.
You can then insert block onto a layer and it will take on the layers
settings.
If req'd you can override and set any item (linetype) to a different setting
without exploding block.

For e.g.
Create a door block on layer 0 with intelligent insert point where you would
normally insert the door.
Insert it on a 'door' layer.
Now also insert doors onto a 'Demolition' layer and it shows dashed line of
that layer.
One door over here is a firerated door inserted onto door layer. Change
linetype to Bold line so it stands out from other doors.
All with one door block.

HTH's.


wrote in message news:6401824@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there any websites with tutorial to understand the flow.

Edited by: ram.d on Jun 3, 2010 4:10 PM
Valued Mentor
mrkaplan
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 7 of 7 (5,386 Views)

Re: BYLAYER and BYBLOCK

06-04-2010 11:35 PM in reply to: ram.d

the problem with the method of putting all entities on 0 layer inside a block is that its often not possible .   often times you need to have axis  , or hidden lines in your block . unless you force color and linetype on layer 0, you have to put these objects on  other layers  i e axis_line  hidden_line 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.