AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
MotoPayton
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 1 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

1829 Views, 7 Replies
04-07-2010 03:03 PM
I have been trying to fillet or add and arch between these two segments of lines and I can't seem to do it.. It's been an hour and i'm pretty fustrated... here it is


This is the corner I am trying to fillet at a 15mm radius but it says it is to large and therefore invalid...


i also tried to use the tan tan radius feature but the circle and the edge do not intersect!
i tried to move it but couldn't figure out how to get it at the exact edge..



Thank you for helping
Valued Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 03:11 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
Can you fillet the corner using a smaller radius? Autocad is trying to tell you something.

I got the circle to touch the corner by drawing a horizontal line from the corner and intersecting the circle and moving the circle with the intersection snap back to the corner.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,342
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 03:12 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
> tried to move it but couldn't figure out how to get it at the exact edge..

Move - original position projected intersection, new position existing intersection. Trim. Done.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
MotoPayton
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 4 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 03:18 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
what point did you designate as you base point as you moved the circle?
Contributor
MotoPayton
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 5 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 03:40 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
i guess i got it

seems lame that fillet cant figure out a bigger circle...
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 03:55 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
... or you a smaller one (could not resist, sorry).

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*None
Message 7 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 04:03 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
motopayton wrote:
> I have been trying to fillet or add and arch between these two segments of lines and I can't seem to do it.. It's been an hour and i'm pretty fustrated... here it is
>
>
> This is the corner I am trying to fillet at a 15mm radius but it says it is to large and therefore invalid...
>
>
> i also tried to use the tan tan radius feature but the circle and the edge do not intersect!
> i tried to move it but couldn't figure out how to get it at the exact edge..
>
>
>
> Thank you for helping

Exactly what is the distance from the top corner to the inside corner?
If it is less than 15mm, then you can't fillet it. On the other hand,
whatever that distance is, can be the fillet radius you want.
Contributor
MotoPayton
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 8 of 8 (1,829 Views)

Re: Autocad won't let me fillet!!!!

04-07-2010 04:46 PM in reply to: MotoPayton
it was less than 15mm... I used the tan tan radius and moved it correctly so I'm good now
thankyou

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements

    Come hangout with Autodesk Support Specialist and AutoCAD guru Volker Cocco, to learn about Precision Drafting: Object Snaps and Object Tracking on July 31 @ 11:00 AM PST.

    Click here for registration information!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube