AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sssteve72
Posts: 418
Registered: ‎08-23-2005
Message 1 of 9 (2,651 Views)

Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

2651 Views, 8 Replies
10-07-2011 07:14 AM

I have one machine in particular in our office that just has all sorts of problems trying to run Autocad 2011 or 2012.  The user was having problems with autocad hesitating sometimes when he was using 2011 it was very random.  I tried all the usual stuff, turn off Aero themes, remove palettes various other serttings etc...  Nothing seemed to work.  Lately we installed a new hard drive and a fresh install of Windows 7 64bit along with a fresh install of Autocad 2012.  Today he says come look at this.  Some of his blocks were literally blinking on the screen and he wasn't even touching his computer.  The funny thing is I just updated the video driver yesterday to use the Autocad certified driver because he was still having autocad occasionally hang up during regens and had the latest driver from nvidia rather than the certified version from autodesk. For reference the video card is an NVIDIA QUADRO FX5800.  Then 15 minutes later he comes and asks me do you get errors when you shutdown autocad.  I said no.  So we go to his computer and he trys to open a drawing and it hangs up gives a stack overflow error.  He shuts down autocad and then reopens it and it works fine.  This thing just hangs up daily and has little bugs all over the place.  I know this isn't a windows 7 issue.  We have two laptops running windows 7 64bit and they are reporting ZERO errors.

 

Anyone else have the one computer that for whatever reason just sucks?

 

 

System specs:

Dell T5500

dual 2.4ghz processors

12 gigs of ram

NVidia Quadro FX5800

 

 

Custom Build with Win7 Pro 64Bit SP1
Gigabyte Tecohnology Co. X79-UD3
3.60 gigahertz Intel Core i7-3820
16GB GSkill Ripjaw Z PC3 2133 PC17000
PCI-E ATI FirePro V7800 2GB 256bit
ATA SanDisk SDSSDX24 SCSI Disk Device (256 GB)
Dell 2001FP and (2) 2407WFPHC Triple monitor setup


Question - Are you the Common Denominator?
Distinguished Contributor
stevev0983
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-05-2005
Message 2 of 9 (2,645 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

10-07-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: sssteve72

Just out of curiosity, did you use the 64 bit ACAD disc for installation? I've seen posts where people were not aware that there are two different versions. It doesn't explain why it would work on your laptop, but it's just something to check.

Secondly, I get the impression that it worked fine before you updated the video card driver. You seem to indicate that the new hard drive and fresh install were fine before yesterday. When you installed the new video driver, did you uninstall the old one first? I find that the best way to change video drivers is:

  1. Download a copy of DriveSweeper (http://phyxion.net/Driver-Sweeper/Driver-Sweeper/Version-3-2-0/)
  2. Uninstall the current driver through Control panel
  3. Restart the computer in safe mode and run Drivesweeper to clean out your nvidia display drivers (you'll see the option). Typical uninstalls leave the disp4.dll file behind and you need to clean it out. driveSweeper will get rid of it.
  4. restart again normally and install the new drivers
  5. restart again after the new drivers

Anything less than this and you really run the risk of driver issues. I've done it like this tons of times and it always works flawlessly.

Distinguished Contributor
sssteve72
Posts: 418
Registered: ‎08-23-2005
Message 3 of 9 (2,631 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

10-07-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: stevev0983

No disc..

 

Downloaded from subscription and used same file for all 3 computers that are windows 7 64bit.

 

No it didn't work fine before we updated the video driver.  If it had I wouldn't have updated the video driver or rather backdated it to the autodesk certified driver.

 

Also NO they were not fine before yesterday.  It's never been fine on this particular computer.  That was why he installed a new hard drive as our IT guy thought it needed one (for record I didn't agree).

 

Odd that I have never had to do run driversweeper on the other 6 computers here that were updated in the exact same manner as downloading the file and then clicking on it to install it.  Though I will concede it is still possible.

 

There are a couple of things I noticed on this computer earlier.  Autocad does not seem to free up memory correctly all the time.  Sometimes yes and sometimes no. 

Also I noticed an error in the event logs.  Something with UxTheme.dll and acad.exe   The themes are set to basic theme.

 

Event Data

acad.exe

24.2.107.0

4e4b6362

UxTheme.dll

6.1.7600.16385

4a5be093

c0000005

000000000000172e

140c

01cc845bf0277c40

c: Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\acad.exe

c:Windows\system32\UxTheme.dll

14de9653-f0e7-11e0-a8bb-0025649a3e21

 

Custom Build with Win7 Pro 64Bit SP1
Gigabyte Tecohnology Co. X79-UD3
3.60 gigahertz Intel Core i7-3820
16GB GSkill Ripjaw Z PC3 2133 PC17000
PCI-E ATI FirePro V7800 2GB 256bit
ATA SanDisk SDSSDX24 SCSI Disk Device (256 GB)
Dell 2001FP and (2) 2407WFPHC Triple monitor setup


Question - Are you the Common Denominator?
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 4 of 9 (2,546 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

10-12-2011 08:26 AM in reply to: sssteve72

Do you still have problems if you start AutoCAD in Windows diagnostic mode?

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13404186&linkID=9240617

 

What happens if you create a new Windows local administrator account and start AutoCAD, does the issue persist?

 

Have you alerady installed the service pack?
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=9240618#section1

 

Are you requested to submit an error report to Autodesk? If you are I can have a look, just send me the email address you used in the report via the Discussion forum email system with a link to this post.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

 

 

Member
CompTechRx
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (1,511 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

09-04-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: sssteve72

We are seeing this issue the past few days on 4 systems, 2 laptops/2 desktops, all Dell's. We get the atached image and have tried clean installs, repairs, .NET repairs, different users, turning off Aero themes and still nothing. Was there any other solution?

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 9 (1,465 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

09-06-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: CompTechRx

Hi Victor,

 

Was the program working before?

Was there any update to the system (Windows, drivers, new programs installed, etc.)?

Does the issue persists in Windows diagnostic mode with a new local administrator account?

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Member
CompTechRx
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 9 (1,331 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

09-24-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: luconceicao

We managed to narrow down the problem. Up until a few weeks ago, this issue didn't exist, and we're wondering if this has happened to anyone else.

 

Yes it was working before and yes the issue persists with new admin account.

 

We have a .bat file that users can click on to load the correct profile for the office. The .bat file contains simple instructions:

 

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Architecture 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\AecBase47.dbx" /p "V:\ACA2012\Local Profile\LOCAL ACA2012 Imperial.arg"

 

I believe the .dbx file shown was wrong for 2012, but again, up until a few weeks ago, running this .bat file would load the correct profile. Now AutoCAD Arch 2012 just crashes and even after re-installing clean and digging out the registry, the program still crashes. Nothing left to do but re-image the entire system. We think it may be related to a Windows update.

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 8 of 9 (1,254 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

09-27-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: CompTechRx

I would take one of the machines and undo a windows update or 2 or 3 and see if that is the problem.... if you're going to redeploy anyways just to verify it.

 

I was going to ask you about windows update, maybe a driver update from windows updates but it's hard to sniff out problems from windows constant patches for busted OS.... i feel your pain.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 9 (1,087 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 on Win7 64bit problems

10-04-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: CompTechRx

When you reinstalled, did you perform a clean reinstall?

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS45252
If not, try this before re-imaging the system.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube