AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
AndyMumm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 6 (696 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

696 Views, 5 Replies
09-28-2012 10:13 AM

One of the computers that have AutoCad installed will not load all the way.  It will start to show the welcome screen and the it will freeze.  Looking on the internet they suggest that you go into task manager and kill the process called WSCommCntr, but it is not appearing in the task manager.

 

Originally the pc was on XP SP2 and with .Net 3.5.  I updated both to the latest version.  I have reinstalled AutoCad and I am still getting the issue.  All harware checks passed.

 

Also the issue sounds just like the one here http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2011/AutoCAD-freezing-on-boot-in-student-lab/td-p/3626436 , but I uninstalled the .Net Framework and reinstalled version 3.5 SP1.  That did not work so I uninstalled that and put on 3.5.  This still is not working.  

 

Any ideas?

If it helps my Service Request Number: 07672759

 

Edit: Also I am not getting an error message

Edit: Attached a screen shot of the issue

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,139
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (684 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

09-28-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: AndyMumm

If all else fails, or any other suggestions offered do not work, explore these Autodesk recommended uninstall/reinstall procedures

Uninstall: http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS45252  
Reinstall (for XP/Vista users): http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS75218

Ensure the user installing/uninstalling and using the product have enough rights to do so (install and reinstall as local administrator):
Unable to run AutoCAD® as a restricted user http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1055299

If needed, test with another user profile as well.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
AndyMumm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 3 of 6 (678 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

09-28-2012 11:28 AM in reply to: AndyMumm

Uninstalled and installed per the instructions and still nothing.

I am an admin on the domain so there aren't and rights to conflict during the installation.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (664 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

09-28-2012 11:45 AM in reply to: AndyMumm

Hi,

 

two additional options to try:

  • a) disconnect your workstation from network (and so also from internet)
  • b) login with another user-name (another Windows-account)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
AndyMumm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 5 of 6 (621 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

10-01-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Off the network still doesn't work.  (I assume you are checking to see if it is freezing trying to pull updates for the home sscreen)

 

Different user accounts:

User (non admin)

Me (admin)

Other IT (admin)

 

none of the above user acounts work.

Member
AndyMumm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 6 of 6 (563 Views)

Re: AutoCad LT 2011 frozen when starting

10-08-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: AndyMumm

To fix the issue I built a new machine and installed AutoCAD.
It would've been nice to get this resolved with the old pc.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.