AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
Message 1 of 6 (524 Views)

AutoCad 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

524 Views, 5 Replies
09-01-2012 10:46 AM

I just started working for a new employer as a 2012 AUTCAD Tech:  they have only used old school DTEXT for everything (what a pain compared to multi-text "MTEXT").

 

Problem: I converted several single line Dtext to Mtext (.075 test height) paragraphs but can not achieve the same spacing they have been using (.225) because .025 is not an availalbe increment in the parapgrah & line spacing selection.  Is there a way or a LISP that will allow me to add custom spacing choices to the Line/Paragraph spacing default list?

 

Then I can upgrade so much and work faster, yet maintain the standard spacing already set via snap grid settings.

 

Thanks,

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,366
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (500 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

09-04-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: av8or-dave

AutoCAD's built in limit is 1/4" through 4": there is no lower or high options available.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 3 of 6 (434 Views)

Re: Autocrat 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

11-30-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: av8or-dave

It would be nice to have smaller spacing.  1/4" is too much.  The font size or half the font size would look much better so 0.1 or 0.05. 

 

Wish List!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Message 4 of 6 (382 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

02-09-2013 07:58 PM in reply to: av8or-dave

There is a cumbersome workaround

 

If you want your paragraph spacing set to 1/8" but it wont let you because its lower than 1/4", you can ...

 

Use SCALE to make your MTEXT twice as large

Set the MTEXT paragraph setting to 1/4"

Use SCALE to make your MTEXT half as large

 

Your MTEXT is now back to your original size with a 1/8" paragraph spacing. You will have to figure out your own specific value to scale UP/DOWN your text to change your spacing to what you need it to be, but once you do it once it will get you what you need with a minimum of extra effort. Let me know how it works for you.

Not sure why they set the min value for that variable that high; or why it doesnt have an option to make it a factor of the line spacing instead.

Distinguished Contributor
area51visitor
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-05-2011
Message 5 of 6 (374 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

02-10-2013 01:05 AM in reply to: QCAD125

Can't you simply click the properties open and change line-spacing to whatever you want?

- Brian
"Very funny, Scotty. Now beam down my clothes."
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 6 of 6 (358 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2012 custom paragraph Spacing

02-10-2013 05:10 PM in reply to: av8or-dave

Thanks av8or-dave,  That work around works great.  Strange that we have to do that.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube