AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
rjimenez00
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,355 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

1355 Views, 7 Replies
04-23-2012 03:00 PM

Hi everyone!

The problem is that AutoCAD 2010, does not recognize any object snap commands, all the other comands work just fine.

I have reinstalled the program and don´t work.

What could be?

Thanks for your time

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,921
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,354 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-23-2012 03:03 PM in reply to: rjimenez00

Hi,

 

>> The problem is that AutoCAD 2010, does not recognize any object snap commands

Do you have a sample for "does not recognize"?

If I now imagine you e.g. start command _LINE and then use _ENDPOINT as objectsnap your cursor does not show the snap-symbols when you come close to a line?

Have you alread looked to the command _OPTIONS how the settings for OSNAP-symbols etc are configured.

 

Or is "does not recognize" anything completley different?

 

Anyway: you did your tests always in a new template (best would be if you use an original AutoCAD-template).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
rjimenez00
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 3 of 8 (1,353 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-23-2012 03:11 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

For example if I have a circle I can not use the command "qua", even if I use the icon directly.



*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,921
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (1,351 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-23-2012 03:13 PM in reply to: rjimenez00

Hi,

 

can you make a screenshot from your command-line after you tried it?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
rjimenez00
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 5 of 8 (1,348 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-23-2012 04:00 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Of course, but first I have to reinstall it.

The message is simple, it tells you when you enter a command that does not exist.

Thanks for your time.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,921
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 8 (1,344 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-23-2012 05:10 PM in reply to: rjimenez00

Hi,

 

QUA or ENDP or any other objectsnap is no command and can't be used as such one!

 

Objectsnaps can only be used at the time AutoCAD asks for to show/input a point. That was the reason why my sample/my question was:

>> start command _LINE and then use _ENDPOINT

When you started the command _LINE AutoCAD asks you for a point, and now you can follow with _QUA to activate the osnap for quadrant so only these points will be used.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,910
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 8 (1,324 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-24-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: rjimenez00

You have to be in a command before you can use an Osnap like QUA: is that the problem?

A test:

At the command line, type

OSMODE

Then enter

123

 

Now start the LINE command, and hover your cursor over a quadrant of a circle, it should attach there unless your PICKBOX is too small or you are not at a quadrant (not every edge of a circle is a quadrant).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
rjimenez00
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 8 of 8 (1,277 Views)

Re: AutoCAD does not recognize the Object Snap commands

04-30-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: pendean

You are rigth.

Thank you.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube