AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 1 of 4 (234 Views)

AutoCAD MEP & Inventor Fusion

234 Views, 3 Replies
11-21-2013 07:58 AM

I'm having some problems with inventor fusion and autocad mep.

 

I have a solid object that i would like to edit in inventor but i get the unknown command error when entering editinfusion

I went through the cuiload and loaded the cuix. file and now the icon editinfusion shows up on the ribbon. After selecting a solid object and clicking on the icon i get the same error message.

 

So i went to AutoCAD 2013 (not MEP) and did the same thing and it worked.

 

My question is, can MEP and fusion work with one another or does this strickly have to be AutoCAD and Fusion?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,297
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (219 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MEP & Inventor Fusion

11-21-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: dfaircloth927
You have standalone plain AutoCAD?
or simply start MEP "as AutoCAD"?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 3 of 4 (214 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MEP & Inventor Fusion

11-21-2013 10:21 AM in reply to: pendean

Yea sorry should have specified that.

 

I have building design suite standard.

AutoCAD English 2013, AutoCAD MEP 2013, AutoCAD Arch 2013, Inventor Fusion 2013, Etc.

 

It works in AutoCAD English 2013 but not in AutoCAD MEP 2013. I do all of my work in MEP 2013 because i work for an Electrical contractor so I use this to do coordination and detailing. However we are getting ready to start a prefab shop and talking with our prefab manager we will have equipment that will take objects from inventor and fab them for us. I would just draw it in inventor for the prefab shop but the last software i used that was close to inventor is solidworks and that was back in 2005. It would take some relearning where i already know how to make solid objects in MEP plus most of them i have to use during the coordination process so i was hoping i could go from MEP to inventor vs MEP to AutoCAD English to inventor fusion.

 

Thanks for the help.

Product Support
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
Message 4 of 4 (180 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MEP & Inventor Fusion

11-25-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: dfaircloth927

It doesn't look like the plugin will work with AutoCAD MEP. It works with core AutoCAD and AutoCAD Mechanical but not MEP or Architecture. 



David Pothier

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube