AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
mpe
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 1 of 35 (3,952 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

3952 Views, 34 Replies
04-07-2011 06:13 AM

Starting AutoCAD 2012, the Autodesk Exchange screen stays white and leads to the following error-messages:

 

  • 'no internet connection'. But there is a connection.
  • 'Autodesk server temporarily out of reach. Also not true because a colleague in another firm doesn't have the problem at the same moment.
  • 'Your proxy is blocking Autodesk Exchange, contact your network administrator'.

The Online Help isn't working either.

Does anybody know what ports are being used by AutoCAD 2012?

 

Workstations have WindowsXp (32-bit and 64-bit). Servers are Windows 2008 Server.

 

Who can help me with this?

 

Regards,

Marcel Pennings

Contributor mp
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 35 (3,937 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-07-2011 06:48 AM in reply to: mpe

Same here on MS Server 2003 and workstations W7x64 and WXPx86.

 

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,832
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 3 of 35 (3,916 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-07-2011 01:27 PM in reply to: mpe

see if you can install the cad manager tools from the dvd, and disable exchange.  the in Options, set cad to NOT use online help.

If you really need to use exchange or online help, you've got a browser that can get there.

New Member
peter.haber
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 4 of 35 (3,708 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-18-2011 11:29 PM in reply to: mpe

To bypass Autodesk Exchange for HELP support. In options-> System ->Autodesk Exchange - uncheck <Access online content (including Help) when available

mpe
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 5 of 35 (3,613 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-21-2011 05:27 AM in reply to: mpe

Thank you all for your responses.

 

But not going online is not an option. We really want to use all the features that Exchange can bring.

So I am still looking for a solution!

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,832
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 6 of 35 (3,605 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-21-2011 05:32 AM in reply to: mpe

What features are you seeing in Echange that make it of interest? 

 

While i've not spent all that much time exploring it, I've not noticed anything yet that can't be handled more efficiently and securely using a web browser.  so i'm really curious what you see that would make it useful.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,283
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 35 (3,601 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-21-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: JGerth

I think the OP likes the fact that access to those website links is all in one place, and not have to figure it out.

 

Share the links if you have them all (or most), I'm sure the OP would appreciate it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,832
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 35 (3,598 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-21-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: pendean

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/help

 

see thread in 2011 forum on Help for issues.

 

is anything else available from echange of remarkable use? I'm not being snarky here, just very curious as to why there would be any benefit to the exchange being available?    Along with many (most?  vast majority?) I spend my business day on some-one elses software and hardware, and cannot install any of the apps listed.   CAD /=iPod, so a successful sales approach for non-mission critical stuff is not reasonable for a core production tool.

 

I don't see where the exchange in a unsecure browser window helps me accomplish any of my goals.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,283
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 35 (3,593 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

04-21-2011 06:18 AM in reply to: JGerth

I personally turned it off from the startup after checking it out, and I have not tapped it yet for anything except as Help brings it up. If the OP's work environment discourages 'web surfing' during work having an in-application window pop-up may be preferred (I know many firms that spend a lot of effort monitoring staff's applications' usage).

 

The OP will have to elaborate more.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
mpe
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 10 of 35 (3,286 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Exchange problems in AutoCAD 2012

05-17-2011 05:17 AM in reply to: mpe

Despite all the facts that Exchange is not really usefull, I still have a customer that wants to use it.

Isn't it strange that no one can tell us how we can get this function to work properly.

If it isn't working at all, why bother to bring it in this version?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube