AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
santtu.ilama
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 1 of 22 (4,495 Views)

AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

4495 Views, 21 Replies
04-11-2011 07:30 AM

Hello

 

I just recieved a new high end workstation with Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, an Intel Core i7 970 CPU, 12GB DDR3 memory and a Quadro 4000 graphics card.

I had the impression that this computer could handle anything and everything AutoCAD could possibly want.

 

Now I open an decent size 2D AutoCAD drawing (7Mb) and try to make a section into 3D.

The first thing I do is 3dorbit a bit to look at the drawing at an angle and the framerate drops down to about 10fps and the movement of my mouse is orbiting the drawing delayed! Then I extrude a few walls up and the framerate drops even lower, around 3fps. And this is still in wireframe mode!!!

 

This does not seem normal as that would mean there is no computer out there that could even remotely handle something big, like the pictures on the program box for example...

 

Where should I look for the problem? I have the suggested driver 265.70.

 

Here is my Tune Log:

 

Performance Tuner Results Log
Version: 18.2.0.0
Date of Last Tune: 25.3.2011

Machine Configuration
---------------------
Processor Speed  : 3.2 GHz
RAM              : 12279 MB

3D Device
---------
Name             : NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Manufacturer     : NVIDIA
Chip set         : Quadro 4000
Memory           : 3801 MB
Driver           : 8.17.0012.6570

Your machine contains a certified 3D Device with a driver version that is certified.

Current application driver:    acaddm10.hdi

Current Effect Status:
----------------------
Enhanced 3D Performance:   Available and on
Smooth display:            Not recommended and off
Gooch shader:              Available and using hardware
Per-pixel lighting:        Available and on
Full-shadow display:       Available and on
Texture compression:       Available and off
Advanced material effects: Available and on

Available application drivers and effect support:
-------------------------------------------------
Software driver
Effect support:

  Enhanced 3D Performance:   Not applicable
  Smooth display:            Not applicable
  Gooch shader:              Software emulation only
  Per-pixel lighting:        Not applicable
  Full-shadow display:       Not applicable
  Texture compression:       Not applicable
  Advanced material effects: Not applicable

Autodesk driver:  Certified
Effect support:

  Enhanced 3D Performance:   Available
  Smooth display:            Not recommended but available
  Gooch shader:              Available
  Per-pixel lighting:        Available
  Full-shadow display:       Available
  Texture compression:       Available
  Advanced material effects: Available

 

 

Thanks in advance, I hope you can help me!

--

Engineer

Santtu Ilama

Distinguished Mentor
jaich
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 2 of 22 (4,452 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

04-11-2011 12:19 PM in reply to: santtu.ilama

Is Hardware Acceleration on?

Active Member
santtu.ilama
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 3 of 22 (4,410 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

04-11-2011 11:07 PM in reply to: jaich

Yes. I also noticed if I click Reset to Recommended Values button, it takes it off, not sure what that means..?

Active Member
santtu.ilama
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 4 of 22 (4,229 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

04-14-2011 02:26 AM in reply to: jaich

There is not much difference in performance between hardware accelleration on and off, the drawing is just smooth with it on but it works slower...

 

I'm guessing the hardware acceleration is actually off even if it says it is on.. :smileysad:

Active Member
santtu.ilama
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 5 of 22 (4,220 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

04-14-2011 03:30 AM in reply to: santtu.ilama

I just ran 3DMark 11 just for the fun of it, I got 2241 points, seems low but I dont know if that means anything because it tests performance in a gaming way...

Member
hrisek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-19-2012
Message 6 of 22 (2,447 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

01-19-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: santtu.ilama

Hello dear Friends:smileyhappy:

My comapny has exactly the same problem with performance in 3D (rotating,moving,scaling models) for Autocad 2012 and Architecture 2012.

We have 4 workstations:

two machines: i7-970, 6GB RAM, 200 Gb SSD, Quadro 2000, WIn7 64

and next two machines: EVGA Classified SR-2 for 2 x Xeon 5650 2.6ghz, 12 Gb RAM, 120 Gb SSD, Quadro 4000, Win7 64bit.

Since few weeks i'm trying to get these cards work properly but performance in 3D in Autocad is still like Geforce 9600 GT or less :smileysad:

It's just ubeliveable that so professional cards get so big problems!

Actually i'll try to explain what i tried to do to this moment:

I installed ALL version autocad (I've uninstalled one version and installed next): 2009(trial),2010 (trial),2011(trial) and 2012 (commercial license). I checked ALL drivers certifed un uncertified by autodesk for Autocad and Architecture (2009,2010,2011 and 2012).

There was no difference fo quadro 2000 od quadro 4000.

I tried to install all drivers in two way - in normal mode windows and in safe model windows.

I updated BIOS for motherboards for newest versions.

I checkes ALL newest drivers for chipsets, network drivers and other components.

In all these cases CADALYST benchmark (version 2012) show me 550-560 points for 3D performance...it's just poor score. Quadro fx3800 get 4100 POINTS! what is going on?

For certified drivers autocad gave me info that my GPU is certified and drivers is certifed...that's mean the drivers was installed OK...but Autocad 2009,2010,2011 and 2012 and Architecture 2009,2010,2011 and 2012 IS NOT ABLE TO USE THIS CARD! Come on people - Quadro 4000 is worth almost 1000$!

In last step i tried to uncheck option "Enable Hardware Acceleration"  - with unchecked CADALYS show me the same score...And the most strange thing is:

Cinebench 11.5 showed 60 FPS (very good score)

PassMark gave me almost 2000 Score for GPU (it's goos score too).

3D Max 2012 is working very well.

But i'm rotating 3d model in Autocad Viewport than TWO or ONE cores of XEON are working at 100%.That's mean - GPU is not used to 3d Orbit...

We have no idea who can help us with this issue...

Wefeel like a looser - we paid so many moneys for workstations but we can't use them to work...

 

Kind regard

Chris Czerwinski

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,707
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 7 of 22 (2,443 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

01-19-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: hrisek

I could shell out for a brand-new Lambo, but given we have snow and potholes it would sit in the garage.  More money does *not* automatically grant better performance.  This is especially true in multi-component systems.  You may have a top-of-the-line video card but get bottlenecked with a 2 GHz processor.  You get a dual quad-core Xeon system but AutoCAD is for the most part single-threaded.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
hrisek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-19-2012
Message 8 of 22 (2,422 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

01-19-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: dgorsman

DGORSMAN:smileyhappy: hello:smileyhappy:

You are talking about CPU performance for Autocad - and you are 100% right. Autodesk is able to use only 1 cores (2 threads per core for 6 core XEON) - not more.But if You are working in 3D space (modelling,rotating 3d, scaling 3d) than ONLY GPU should be used for these operations - that's a reason why you have a QUADRO CARDS and CERTIFIED GRAPHIC DRIVERS which are certified by AUTODESK.

2 years ago i worked with other workstation -  XEON (four cores) 2.33 GHz, 8 GB RAM, QUADRO FX 4500 and Win Xp Sp2 64 bit. And what? And In autocad 2011 i had 3D score (CADALYST benchmark) over  3500 point. Actually with the same model i have 550 points! That's a problem...totally failure of NVIDIA quadro 4000 and quadro 2000 cards.

I get some info from our helpdesk for autocad products in my country (POLAND) that performance should be many times better than 550-560 points. These cards should be fast as hell...

That's all.

Kind Regards

Chris Czerwinski

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,468
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 22 (2,410 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

01-19-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: hrisek

Hi,

 

have you set the visual style to any other than 2D-Wireframe?`If not .... you have the slowest way set to work 3D.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
hrisek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-19-2012
Message 10 of 22 (2,404 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 performance issues

01-19-2012 02:01 PM in reply to: santtu.ilama

Dear Alfred:smileyhappy:

As I said in previous posts - QUADRO cards are fast as hell for every mode for editing 3D - WIREFRAME, SHADED,REALISTIC, CONCEPTUAL and others. Where i found this knowledge? Because in previous post i wrote:

" 2 years ago i worked with other workstation -  XEON (four cores) 2.33 GHz, 8 GB RAM, QUADRO FX 4500 and Win Xp Sp2 64 bit. And what? In autocad 2011 i had 3D score (CADALYST benchmark) over  3500 point. Actually with the same model i have 550 points! That's a problem...totally failure of NVIDIA quadro 4000 and quadro 2000 cards."

What i mean? I mean that i was editing some huge scene (shaded mode) two years ago - and i used Quadro FX 4500. And i have huuuuge performance in 3D Editing that model in shaded mode. And now I have better, faster Quadro 4000 and i can't rotate the same model in shade mode because it's freezing! That's a problem. If i wanted to use wireframe mode in Autocad 2012 I would to buy simple Geforce 460 card which cost 200$ - not 1000$. Please check NVIDIA site to read what Quadro 4000 is able to do in REAL TIME in Autocad.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube