AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
Arfman
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 21 of 44 (1,541 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-10-2011 09:42 AM in reply to: w64bit

I tried setting RIBBONBGLOAD to 0 and it is still jumpy and laggy.

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 906
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 22 of 44 (1,520 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-10-2011 11:19 AM in reply to: Arfman

I tried the 5000layers drawing in 2011 32-bit with a Quadro FX3700 on Vista 32-bit. It was noticeably lagging compared to the 1000layers drawing while doing simple panning. Opening the drawing did not seem to be an issue.

 

I enabled hardware acceleration using the Manual Tune dialog, no effect.

 

Then I noticed the little light bulb icon for this setting was still off so I turned it on with a left-click. BTW, I find that annoying, first, it should be a right-click and second, it should have been on when enabled via the dialog. No change in performance though.

 

--------------------------

 

Then I remembered that harware acceleration changes were never noticeable until AutoCAD was restarted when I was testing with Point Clouds. AutoCAD should warn you about this. So I restarted AutoCAD. No lag while panning after the restart.

 

--------------------------

 

There could be multiple issues. HW acceleration, video card, and AutoCAD version. I think Autodesk has been changing what gets accelerated and what doesn't and has moved away from vendor specific hardware acceleration and now only recommends the "Autodesk" hardware acceleration instead of NVIDIA or AMD/ATI custom drivers.

 

I noticed in Civil 3D 2011 that you get a lot of flickering after update 1.1 unless you turn HW acceleration off. But I've also heard that you can then turn it back on and the flickering will not come back, I haven't verified that yet.

Active Member
johnjgray
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
Message 23 of 44 (1,516 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-10-2011 11:23 AM in reply to: GTVic

Also note as well changing the RIBBONBGLOAD variable doesn't take effect until after AutoCAD is restarted.

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 906
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 24 of 44 (1,495 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-10-2011 12:22 PM in reply to: GTVic
I've retested on the same machine in Windows 7 64-bit with 2012. There is a 30 second delay when opening the 5000layers drawing and a 5 second delay after panning. Significantly worse than my earlier 2011 test. Adjusting HW acceleration and restarting had no effect. Ditto for turning off the view cube, navigation bar, etc. Civil 3D 2012 is the same, unusable.
Active Member
Arfman
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 25 of 44 (1,492 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-10-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: Arfman

I found something extremely interesting. Hopefully you can follow me here.

 

 

  1. open the 5000layer.dwg
  2. notice the lag while zooming and panning
  3. start the move command (still lagg if you zoom)
  4. select the rectangle (still lagg if you zoom)
  5. hit enter to end the selction (still lagg if you zoom)
  6. select a base point NO MORE LAG!
OF COURSE AS SOON AS YOU END THE COMMAND THE LAG IS BACK.
Is this only me? I have tried this in multiple files and it seems to act like this.

 

Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 26 of 44 (1,463 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-11-2011 05:56 AM in reply to: R.Gerritsen4967

Check to see if reconciling the layers has any affect.

 

If this corrects the problem you can thank Bruce (klugb) for his post in the Civil 3D forum. http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Slowdown-when-xref-s-contain-Civil-3D-objects-in-2012...

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Active Member
bjackson01
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-06-2009
Message 27 of 44 (1,458 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-11-2011 06:16 AM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

Reconcileing layers does not help any. There is no xrefs in the drawing either, so that may be part of it.

New Member
jverplanck
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Message 28 of 44 (1,438 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-11-2011 08:13 AM in reply to: R.Gerritsen4967

I have been experiencing the same issues opening files which i did not associate to layers which makes me curious. I am running 2012 64 bit on Dell Precision T3500 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3503 @ 2.40GHz - 15 GB Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit OS.

 

My video Card is 256 ATI Fire MV 2260, Could the lack of memory have that much of an affect on opening files?

 

We have machines running 2009 and 2011 32 bit with 2 Gig on windows xp and they open files much faster.

 

Any suggestions on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Valued Contributor
w64bit
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Message 29 of 44 (1,424 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-11-2011 12:45 PM in reply to: bjackson01
Active Member
Arfman
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 30 of 44 (1,418 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 is laggy with a lot of layers

05-11-2011 12:56 PM in reply to: Arfman

That hotfix worked for me! thank you so much.

 

the 5000 layer drawing is working just fine!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube