AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
jaich
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 11 of 32 (6,499 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

06-08-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: Jlasante

|  I know it's not a RAM issue.

 

I don't see how you can be so confident that it isn't a RAM issue.  2GB RAM?  That's what ACAD 2012 requires at a minimum.  What's left for your OS, email software, web browser, music player, etc?  Just buy some more RAM already.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 12 of 32 (6,496 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

06-08-2011 08:29 AM in reply to: jaich

jaich wrote:

|  I know it's not a RAM issue.

 

I don't see how you can be so confident that it isn't a RAM issue.  2GB RAM?  That's what ACAD 2012 requires at a minimum.  What's left for your OS, email software, web browser, music player, etc?  Just buy some more RAM already.


1) The system requirements for AutoCAD2012 is 2GB RAM... the same as 2011, which the OP said doesn't exibit the same behaviour.

 

2) A small drawing may be well under 100kb and the OP said it happens in all drawings.  More than 2GB may be usedful for larger drawings, but 2GB is more than adequate for simple 2D drawings. 

 

As I'm sure you're well aware, even AutoCAD users with monster systems having 12+GB  RAM have reported poor performance in one verson but not another....  These problems are almost always caused by incompatiablities between AutoCAD and the installed hardware/software, not by a lack of resources.

Contributor
Jlasante
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-13-2007
Message 13 of 32 (6,483 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

06-08-2011 10:13 AM in reply to: pendean

Please find attached my template for my company's standard materials list or stock bill. Every time I use the COPY command and hit enter to exit or hit ESC that is when the lag occurs. Pick any item, copy it and end the procedure. See if it is my file or my computer or my mind.

 

This system won't let me upload DWT files. it says it's not a valid extension. so i made a dwg. same thing still happens.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 14 of 32 (6,479 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

06-08-2011 10:53 AM in reply to: Jlasante

I get a very slight delay when copying that I've never experienced before (perhaps about a second), however I recieved  two errors/warnings when opening your drawingl. 

 

First was a missing language pack.  That's no biggie, I just proceeded.

 

The second may well be your problem.  The drawing contains more layer filters than there are layers in the drawing. .  Excessive layer filters, like excessive scales, is known to cause poor performance in certain instances.  The warning message gives the option to deleted the layer filters, and if I did that when opening the drawing, the delay disappeared.

Contributor
Jlasante
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-13-2007
Message 15 of 32 (6,463 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

06-09-2011 05:12 AM in reply to: nestly

That was it! woo-hoo! I didn't get that error message when I opened the drawing but when i went to the layer manager it popped up. It didn't help right away but when i saved and opened again there was no lag

 

Sorry Autodesk, My bad

 

 

Thanks

Active Contributor
joeman27
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-23-2011
Message 16 of 32 (6,282 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

07-07-2011 08:07 PM in reply to: Jlasante

My autocad 2012 is really locking up everytime I copyclip something like a hatch pattern. It does it consistenly every time.  Not sure what the problem is.  I recently upgrade from LT, and LT doesnt have this problem.

Active Contributor
joeman27
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-23-2011
Message 17 of 32 (6,262 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

07-09-2011 11:57 AM in reply to: joeman27

My problem was I had .pat files mixed in with dwg files.  When I moved the .pat files into another directory it fixed the problem.

Active Contributor
dallasn
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎08-31-2010
Message 18 of 32 (5,961 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

08-17-2011 12:51 PM in reply to: joeman27

I just wanted to confirm that excessive layer filters can cause lockups when using copy to clipboard.  I came here looking for a solution to my computer locking up. Read the comments here and went and found the file had over 100 layer filters. I cleared them out and now copy to clip board works fine.

 

Thanks

Member
guitarchic0516
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 19 of 32 (5,474 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

10-24-2011 07:27 AM in reply to: Jlasante

I am having this EXACT same problem! I have windows 7 Autocad 2012 and everytime I COPYCLIP something and hit ESC to exit the command , it lags for a solid minute. I can still do other things on my computer but Autocad is unresponsive. I have gone through the forum and did everything people have mentioned to fix it, but nothing seems to work. Have you found a solution yet you the problem? Please let me know, thanks!

Member
guitarchic0516
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 20 of 32 (5,468 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezes or lags when using the copy command

10-24-2011 07:40 AM in reply to: nestly

I delete the excessive filter layers each time it gives me the option, but my lagging problem still hasn't changed. Are there any updated solutions?

 

Thanks

 

Windows 7

Autocad 2012

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.