AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
kalebgriepp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
Message 1 of 16 (8,787 Views)

AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

8787 Views, 15 Replies
04-11-2012 03:36 PM

Hello I was wondering if anyone knew whether or not AutoCAD 2012 will install and run with DirectX 11, which is the version I’m using? I’ve tried everything from reinstalling autoCAD and DirectX to installing the .net Framework 4.0 and visual 2010 pack, but AutoCAD won’t install the DirectX Runtime. Any help you could offer is much appreciated.

Windows 7 pro, 64-bit
I7-860 processor
1 TB hard Drive
12 GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5450 DirectX 11 graphics card, 3D compatible

Below is the installation error log I receive from AutoCAD.

Installing DirectX Runtime: C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\3rdParty\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe /silent
2012/4/2:19:03:03 Caleb KALEB-HP Install DirectX Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=-21

2012/4/2:19:03:03 Caleb KALEB-HP Installing Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution: ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2012/4/2:19:05:28 Caleb KALEB-HP Install Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution Succeeded

2012/4/2:19:05:28 Caleb KALEB-HP Installing Autodesk Content Service: INSTALLMODE=PRIVATE AUTOSTART=0 ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2012/4/2:19:05:40 Caleb KALEB-HP Install Autodesk Content Service Succeeded


2012/4/2:19:05:43 Caleb KALEB-HP Installing AutoCAD® 2012: TRANSFORMS="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\x64\en-us\acad\acad.mst;C:\Users\Caleb\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI2DE2.tmp\x64\acad\acad-standalone.mst" MSINEWINSTANCE=1 ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2012/4/2:19:06:01 Caleb KALEB-HP Install AutoCAD® 2012 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603
2012/4/2:19:06:11 Caleb KALEB-HP Rollback Autodesk Content Service Succeeded
2012/4/2:19:06:28 Caleb KALEB-HP Rollback Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution Succeeded

Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 408
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 2 of 16 (8,777 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-11-2012 04:58 PM in reply to: kalebgriepp

Hi Kaleb,

 

AutoCAD only uses DirectX 9, and this won't install on systems that have it built-in, such as Windows 7. See the line in your log:

 

Install DirectX Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=-21

 

The installation process ignores the fact that DirectX did not install and keeps on going.

 

I see you have a 1603 error farther down. That is where the real problem is. I would post this question over on the installation forums.



Bryce Thelin
Active Member
kalebgriepp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
Message 3 of 16 (8,754 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-12-2012 11:09 PM in reply to: bryce.thelin

I was on my college computer the other day, and I found out they run directX 11 on windows 7, 32-bit, whereas I run it on 64-bit. Does that make any difference? How can I install this on windows 7, which has directx 11 built in?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 16 (8,747 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-12-2012 11:52 PM in reply to: kalebgriepp

Hi,

 

as mentioned by Bryce .... you don't have a problem with DirectX! If you look to your log you'll find:

2012/4/2:19:03:03 Caleb KALEB-HP Install DirectX Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=-21

 

The line of the real problem is this line:

2012/4/2:19:06:01 Caleb KALEB-HP Install AutoCAD® 2012 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603

 

So search for "installation problem" and "1603" in the www.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 408
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 5 of 16 (8,731 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-13-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: kalebgriepp

I think DirectX 11 is backwards compatible, although I could be wrong. This really isn't the cause of your installation problem though. It's something else.



Bryce Thelin
Active Member
kalebgriepp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
Message 6 of 16 (8,721 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-13-2012 08:34 PM in reply to: kalebgriepp

I finally managed to get AutoCAD working, though it was a gruesome process. I ended up backing up all my files onto the external hard drive I had to buy, then reinstalling windows 7, 32-bit instead of 64-bit. After I got booted up again, I installed AutoCAD 2011, and it finally worked. I've worked more on installing AutoCAD this past month than I have slept, because of the lack of compatibilty ogf AutoCAD and Windows 7. I hope in the future the issues are taken care of, or at least someone has the decency to have an easily navigatible forum to ask questions in. Thanks for all your help, those who answered.

Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 408
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 7 of 16 (8,663 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-16-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: kalebgriepp

I'm glad to hear you got things working! It definitely sounds like there was something wrong with your original Windows 7 installation.



Bryce Thelin
New Member
pompapah
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 8 of 16 (8,631 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-17-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: bryce.thelin

I've read this thread and I'm about to install Autocad. Is there a way to check Windows 7 install before I go down this road?

Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 408
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 9 of 16 (8,623 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

04-17-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: pompapah

There really isn't a "list" for checking the operating system to make sure everything is okay with it. If there are missing components that AutoCAD needs, it will install them. You could try running the System File Checker:

 

  1. Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories.
  2. Right-click Command Prompt and choose "Run as administrator."
  3. Type the command: SFC /SCANNOW. Wait for it to finish.

 

I would also turn off UAC, make sure you are logged in with administrator rights, and right-click the installer EXE file for AutoCAD and choose "Run as administrator" to start it (either the downloaded file or the setup.exe from within the extracted folder in C:\Autodesk).



Bryce Thelin
New Member
srujanreddy94
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Message 10 of 16 (8,168 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Install Failure

07-05-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: kalebgriepp

i have downloaded the autocad 2012 32 bit version

wen i am trying to istall it,its showing to update .net framework 

u need .net framework 4.0 or later

i updated it,restarted and again getting same problem.

 i even tried by uninstalling microsoft .net from control panel,deleted from regedit,downloaded a fresh version from microsoft website(.net 4.0) but again the same problem.....

i want to have a perfect solution for this.....

i would be thankful for whoever helps me solve the issue.....

i tried a lot in various ways....... 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube