AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,158
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 11 of 25 (1,864 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

12-02-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: markmcl70

tomhurns wrote:

 

If you buy a new machine, you are not aware of these issues until you turn it on


AutoCAD is an expensive, professional program and deserves (requires?) a professional level of training.  Part of that professional development includes ongoing self-training as technology changes.  A professional should be aware of the differences between 32-bit and 64-bit OS and specifiy appropriate OS on purchase order.  Consider a failure to keep up with this due diligence as technology changes as an expensive "lesson learned".

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
tomhurns
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 12 of 25 (1,805 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

12-07-2012 08:25 PM in reply to: JDMather

I agree with you.

 

That said, there are advanced users who depend on very sophisticated/expensive AutoCAD addons that only run on the 32bit version. These  want to utilize new hardware (like 64bit machines) but cannot use 64bit AutoCAD, because of the dependencies that were mentioned before. 

 

One day you may be in the same situation.

 

Thanks for your comments

Tommy

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,158
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 13 of 25 (1,796 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

12-08-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: tomhurns

I don't see that in the OP's problem description even though I asked for clarification in the first response (Post #2 in this thread).

 

I have tried to be very precise in each response to get to the true problem statement.

It could be as simple as the OP originally had the 32-bit version and was not aware they could also get the 64-bit version for their new machine.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
Bruce_2012
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 14 of 25 (1,381 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

03-04-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: tomhurns

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa384249(v=vs.85).aspx

 

And even Microsoft IE defaults to 32bit eh?

 

What gets me is where is the benefit/cost analysis of 'upgrading' to 64 bit? Doesn't anyone take engineering economics anymore? I only use ACAD LT for electrical schematics with a ancient plug-in. It works fine for the .5% of my total engineering time spent using cad. Maybe I'm the minority, but I'm getting very tired of having to upgrade my tools for no personal gain.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 15 of 25 (1,377 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

03-04-2013 10:46 AM in reply to: Bruce_2012

Hi,

 

>> but I'm getting very tired of having to upgrade my tools for no personal gain

You don't have to, stay at XP or Win7, whatever you have current installed.

 

To compare it with a car, if you buy a new car you also will have to buy new wheels, you have to use other tools to repair it, you have to use other replacement-parts to get your car serviced and repaired. So if you change your computer and your os, why not buying the tools that run on that computer? The advantage for software is you can update it, e.g. for rims: you have not any option to "update them", you have to buy new ones .... and nobody does now tell the car-manufactures that they have to make it possible to use the same replacement-parts or rims as the old car.

 

Sorry for these words, they are really not meant personally to anyone. But I see discussions without any end why a software written some years ago (in computer point of view that are generations) has to be updated if someone switches to the current os.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
Bruce_2012
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Message 16 of 25 (1,375 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

03-04-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred, Given your analogy, if I buy a new car I would have to go get a new license to drive this car, and I could no longer attach my boat trailer because it has lost all compatibility with the new car. In reality I can drive my 66 Mustang or my 2013 Ford Ranger on the same roads with the same license. No Problemo.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 17 of 25 (1,373 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

03-04-2013 11:19 AM in reply to: Bruce_2012

Hi,

 

good approach animierte smilies lachen grinsen happy freuen smilen witzig froh

 

... if AutoCAD would run on your monitor or in your keyboard (externally from your pc like the traier is an external connected equipment), but AutoCAD run's on top of your os using functions very very deep within the os. It's like trying to use the motor-controller for a 2013-engine within your engine from 66 in your mustang.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,615
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 18 of 25 (1,334 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

03-05-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: Bruce_2012

>>>..but I'm getting very tired of having to upgrade my tools for no personal gain....<<<
XP 32bit is still a supported OS through 2013 and may be supported in the next version too: are you simply complaining because no PC manufacturer wants to sell you a WinXP "new PC'? Then it's time to home build or seek a local shop to custom build the next PC for you. They still exist, start shopping locally for your next PC.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
RICKCARLTON2478
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 19 of 25 (755 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

07-06-2013 10:24 AM in reply to: JDMather

I am sorry but your analogy is BS. When you buy a new car you get new wheels. All the service tools are the same with maybe "MINOR" updates. I purchased ACAD 2011 MEP and revit in 2011 and now 22 months later I have to spend another 4k to use it?!?!? Years ago the company I was at used ACAD 13 with 3D capabilities for four years before they had to upgrade. The current economy will not allow this type of hit for individuals or small businesses.

 

RC 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,615
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 20 of 25 (738 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 32Bit unable to run in Windows 8

07-07-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: markmcl70
There are thousands of users still running R14 from 15-years ago and are happy to continue and are doing just fine.
If you are having problems with 2011 you might be doing the harm yourself, not anyone else, since Win7 is still easily available in 32-64 bit from all major vendors, you simply have to ask for it. Just pay attention to what you are doing as no one else is going to look out for your interests (life reality).
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube