AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
tneidiffer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 1 of 4 (217 Views)

Any option to export a 3-D Graphic to AutoMOD

217 Views, 3 Replies
05-04-2012 01:14 PM

I'm trying to export 3D models from AutoCAD 2011 to AutoMod Simulation software. However, every different export filetype that I try does not allow me to bring the model into AutoMod and still have the colors that the model had in AutoCAD. For example, If I create a car and it has several colors for the metal, the wheels, and the windshield, it brings it over as a single block, all in red. I'm not sure how to fix this. In the old models, I used to use 3DSOUT command, but that doesn't look like an option any longer. I'm struggling... please help.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 4 (197 Views)

Re: Any option to export a 3-D Graphic to AutoMOD

05-05-2012 01:41 AM in reply to: tneidiffer

Hi,

 

looking to the homepage of AutoMOD they have IGES in the list of available importers.

And for AutoCAD 2011 there was IGES-Export available within an SubscriptionAdvantagePack (check >>>this<<<).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,340
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (177 Views)

Re: Any option to export a 3-D Graphic to AutoMOD

05-06-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: tneidiffer

Free Inventor Fusion will translate dwg to many formats.

http://labs.autodesk.com

 

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
tneidiffer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 4 of 4 (162 Views)

Re: Any option to export a 3-D Graphic to AutoMOD

05-07-2012 05:28 AM in reply to: tneidiffer

Thanks guys... I'll try these options. I've exported as an IGES before, but it imports only as a single color, so I can't see any differences in the shapes. I'll see if I'm missing something possibly and let you know. It may be a rookie mistake...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube