AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
Martin00
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 1 of 10 (3,047 Views)
Accepted Solution

AdMigrator.exe silent mode

3047 Views, 9 Replies
07-16-2010 03:21 PM

Hi,

 

I want to execute AdMigrator.exe in a silent mode.

 

In the shortcut I see a switch /e for export the settings. Is it possible to run an export of the settings in a silent mode? If it is, which switches are available for AdMigrator.exe?

 

Alumni bud
Alumni
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (2,976 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

07-19-2010 08:18 AM in reply to: Martin00

Hello Martin,

 

First of all thanks for posting your question to the Autodesk News Groups. 

 

AdMigrator.exe should only be run from the UI.  It's not intended to be run from a command line.  But if you like, I can pass it on to the team as a wish list item. 

 

Hope this helps and thanks for posting to the News Groups.

 

Bud



Bud Schroeder
Senior Test Engineer
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
Martin00
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 3 of 10 (2,965 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

07-19-2010 09:18 AM in reply to: bud

Hello Bud,

 

it's a pity! If you don't mind, please pass it on to the team as a new wish list item.

 

Thank you very much indeed!

 

Martin

Alumni bud
Alumni
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 10 (2,960 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

07-19-2010 09:26 AM in reply to: Martin00

Hi Martin,

 

I passed it on this morning.  Can you give me some examples of how you would like to be able to use the Migration Feature with a script and in a silent mode?  I would like to share that with the team as well.

 

Thanks again for the Feedback and the details.

 

Bud



Bud Schroeder
Senior Test Engineer
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
Martin00
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 5 of 10 (2,935 Views)

Betreff: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

07-20-2010 07:51 AM in reply to: Martin00

Hello Bud,

 

I would like to use the AdMigrator to recover my customized settings per shortcut. To do this I need additional to the import switch /I one switch (e.g. /S) for the silent mode and one switch (e.g. /P) for the path of the settings file. To recover the settings per shortcut would be a little bit more comfortable. Also I would like to use this feature in a software deployment script.

 

It would be very nice to see this feature in one of the next releases.

 

Thanks a lot for your help.

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2007
Message 6 of 10 (2,087 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

04-05-2011 07:58 AM in reply to: Martin00

Hi Bud & Martin

 

I would like to second the request for a silent mode for the AdMigrator. When a user logs in, I would like to run a script to detect whether they have ever run AutoCAD on this PC, and if they have, whether they have had the standard corporate deployment migrated to their profile. If not (or the latter has changed) I want to (re)import custom settings from a model settings file on the network.

 

I know there are other ways of managing a custom environment but we are using AutoCAD Architecture and ensuring all the toolbars, palletttes, menus, woprkspaces and profiles etc are just as we want them is a skilled and time consuminig job and we have only recently been able to faultlessly replicate it using the AdMigrator tool. This works very well, it could so easily be automated. Please offer this functionality!

 

Stephen Solt

CZWG Architects LLP

London

 

 

 

 

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2007
Message 7 of 10 (2,086 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

04-05-2011 08:01 AM in reply to: s_solt

Postscript

 

Actually, As a programmer/developer an alternative to command switches for scripting AdMigrator functionality would be a COM interface so that I can use it in OLE.

 

Stephen Solt 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 8 of 10 (1,432 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

04-12-2012 03:19 AM in reply to: s_solt

Interesting thread.  I too am wondering if it is possible to call admigrator.exe and pick a settings file using a switch?  Did this move forward at all?

 

Thanks,

Guy

 

AutoCADM 2011 SP2
XP 32-Bit SP3
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2012
Message 9 of 10 (1,283 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

07-21-2012 12:21 PM in reply to: Martin00

use autoit 

 

 

Run('"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\AdMigrator.exe" /i')


WinWaitActive("Import Custom Settings", "")

ControlSetText("Import Custom Settings", "", "Edit1", "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\arch\AutoCAD 2012 - English_cust_settings.zip")

If WinActive("Import Custom Settings") Then
ControlClick("Import Custom Settings", "", "[CLASS:Button; INSTANCE:1]")
EndIf

 

$wint = "Import Custom Settings"
$wintt = "Your migration package has been successfully imported."

While ProcessExists("AdMigrator.exe")
Sleep(100)
If WinExists($wint, $wintt) Then

ControlClick($wint, $wintt, "[NAME:chkBxViewLog]")
ControlClick($wint, $wintt, "[NAME:btnOK]")

EndIf

WEnd

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 10 of 10 (645 Views)

Re: AdMigrator.exe silent mode

08-15-2013 03:22 PM in reply to: guyh

Hey all.  Thanks for doing the legwork on this one.

 

I'm trying to write a script on my campus to automate the installation of a custom settings ZIP file for AutoCAD 2013.  I can get it up to the Import Custom Settings box, but having to go through and click to the directory on 62++ workstations can be tedious.  Would love an automated way to say something like this:

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\AdMigrator.exe" /i /product ACAD /language "en-US" /f "C:\Temp\CADD14\AutoCAD 2013 - English_cust_settings.zip"

 

 

... or similar.  Ideas?

 

- Will, MCRT, TSS, FCC, SCCCD.edu

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube