AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Light_Guy
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-24-2007
Message 1 of 11 (663 Views)
Accepted Solution

ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

663 Views, 10 Replies
03-20-2013 02:07 PM

Are multileaders in 2011 not associative? I had to move a group of equipment off of a bulkhead to allow for insulation I did not know was there and when I went back to my layout, I had to reattach every arrowhead to its respective piece of equipment.

Paul Hamor
"Always good ships!"
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 11 (662 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-20-2013 02:10 PM in reply to: Light_Guy

DIMASSOC needs to be set to 2 and you must snap to the objects (INT, END and so on) with your MLEADER arrow for that to occur.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
Light_Guy
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-24-2007
Message 3 of 11 (620 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-21-2013 05:04 AM in reply to: pendean

Thanks Dean, can always count on a response from you! Sadly, that wasn't the fix. DIMASSOC was set to 2 and I had attached them with snaps. In mucking with it this morning, any new ML I attach seems to associate but the ones I inserted from my tool palette are the ones that are not. I checked my source drawing and DIMASSOC is set to 2 there as well. Could it be that because they were not attached to anything when I added them to my palette they don't retain associativity?

Paul Hamor
"Always good ships!"
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 11 (615 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-21-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: Light_Guy

I don't ever do that myself, so you will have to wait for someone that brings in MLEADERs from TPs exclusively to provide you with a fix if one exists.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 5 of 11 (563 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-25-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: pendean

I'm looking into this further and will reply once I have additional information.



Shawn Niles
Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 825
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 6 of 11 (547 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-26-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: Light_Guy

You are correct by your assessment of bringing an MLEADER from a pallette.  You must use DIMREASSOCIATE when placing the terminator.  Just placing it with the snaps will not make them associative.

Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 7 of 11 (537 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-26-2013 12:13 PM in reply to: steve216586

Autodesk is aware of this behaviour, and we'll be working to see if we can provide an improved workflow. I'll make sure to post here should updates become available.



Shawn Niles
Distinguished Contributor
Light_Guy
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-24-2007
Message 8 of 11 (520 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

03-27-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: Light_Guy

OK, knowing what you have now told me, I went back to my block drawing and inserted a new MLeader but attached it to an arbitrary line. Saved the drawing and then pulled that new MLeader to my pallette. That seems to "enable" it to maintain associativity when inserting into other drawings. Hope that helps you guys "fix" it. I really would have thought that it would be like a regular dimension which has associative in the properties.

Thanks again!!

Paul Hamor
"Always good ships!"
Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 9 of 11 (485 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

04-02-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: Light_Guy

Hi Paul,

 

Would you be willing to share the file with us you are doing the testing with? We'd like to do some testing with it here as well.



Shawn Niles
Distinguished Contributor
Light_Guy
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-24-2007
Message 10 of 11 (480 Views)

Re: ASSOCIATIVE MULTILEADERS?

04-02-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

Hi Shawn - thanks for pounding on this. Willing yes, able no. I work for a DoD contractor so I cannot share out that file. Really what it boiled down to was attaching the arrowhead of the MLeader to something/anything in the source file and then dragging it to the tool palette. If the arrow was free floating, there was no associativity. Since I tried that, I have added that MLeader to quite a few drawings and it has held up so far. I did attach a screen shot, best I can do, sorry. Please let me know if I can provide more info though. 

Paul Hamor
"Always good ships!"

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube