AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
klgwhite
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-01-2005
Message 1 of 11 (7,294 Views)

AEC object error messages

7294 Views, 10 Replies
10-18-2012 05:42 PM

I'm working in AutoCAD 2010 and have just recently begun getting the following errors when opening any file.  Even files that I have created from scratch in the same version of CAD.

 

This is the error I get when I open the file:

 

"To be fully compatible with this version, save the drawing from the original application as AutoCAD 2000/2004/2007/2010 format with AEC objects exploded or with Proxy Graphics enabled"

 

Then, when I try to copy/paste from the menu bar (as opposed to just "c" from the keyboard or icon), I get this error:

 

"This application has detected a mixed version of AEC objects participating in this operation.  Newer AEC objects will be disallowed from participating in this operation"

 

It happens even when it's just lines - no objects at all.

 

What is going on, and how do I fix it?  Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 11 (7,262 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

10-19-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: klgwhite

Did you recently experiment with R2013? If not, someone else did with all of these files and now all the AEC content has been upgraded and taken out of your 2010 version's control. Or you keep dragging content (or using a template file) saved down from R2013.

 

If you don't these AEC objects, -EXPORTTOAUTOCAD command (there is a dash in the command name) in 2013 can get rid of them for you. It may work in 2010, but I've not had good luck with it myself.

 

There is no other fix, unless you want to go ahead, pony-up, and upgrade to R2013 today.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
klgwhite
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-01-2005
Message 3 of 11 (7,258 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

10-19-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: pendean

It started happening after I opened a file from a consultant, so yes, that's a possibility, but the other files are mine, created by me, and never opened or edited by anyone else.  That's what has me confused - it's doing it with every file - even ones that I haven't opened in months.

 

So, if I'm not ready to upgrade to 2013, I just keep hitting "accept" or "ok" and ignore the errors? 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 11 (7,255 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

10-19-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: klgwhite

In my first reply, second paragraph, is a fix if that works for you and your consultants: talk to each other and decide what's best.

 

Existing files don't suddenly become laced with AEC content on their own: you or someone introduced them in the file(s) with a copy/paste or INSERT or XREF or more.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
timsparks6941
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 11 (3,864 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 06:54 AM in reply to: klgwhite

Is there a way to suppress the error dialog box?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 11 (3,851 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 09:51 AM in reply to: timsparks6941
Which one?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
timsparks6941
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 11 (3,850 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: klgwhite

"This application has detected a mixed version of AEC objects participating in this operation.  Newer AEC objects will be disallowed from participating in this operation"

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 11 (3,821 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: timsparks6941
No cure if you always save the file down lower than 2010 format but should go away after the first time you open an older file if you save to 2010 format (and stay there).

To permanently fix it you must get rid of / explode the AEC content.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
timsparks6941
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 9 of 11 (3,819 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: klgwhite

I noticed in the 2013 convertor that there is an explode AEC objects selection.  I guess that is what you are talking about?  Once exploded it's a matter of selecting the entity type and deleting them?

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 11 (3,809 Views)

Re: AEC object error messages

11-07-2013 05:40 PM in reply to: timsparks6941
-EXPORTTOAUTOCAD command (there is a dash in the name): it may work and worth trying. Works best if you knock the file down to the lowest format allowed.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube