AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
KMidd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 1 of 3 (614 Views)

AEC Objects?

614 Views, 2 Replies
07-24-2012 12:01 PM

I am currently using AutoCAD Architecture at work which allows me to use AEC "smart" objects (walls, windows, doors). This is a staple in my AutoCAD experience. I am planning on branching off and starting my own business and was hoping to only purchase AutoCAD LT, vs the mega expensive ACA, seeing as I don't use any of the other 3D tools. Is there any way to use these AEC objects with AutoCAD 2012? or even AutoCAD LT? Or are these tools exclusive to ACA?

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,550
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 2 of 3 (603 Views)

Re: AEC Objects?

07-24-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: KMidd

You can view them or plot them but they are only proxy graphics in plain AutoCAD.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 3 of 3 (581 Views)

Re: AEC Objects?

07-30-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: KMidd

Define "use". If you need to draw new objects, you will need AutoCAD Architecture (or MEP). If you need just to view and edit them, you will need only the free "object enabler" to process these special AEC objects.

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz   www.cadforum.cz


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.