AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
JIMDONALDSON6595
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 1 of 7 (3,230 Views)
Accepted Solution

ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

3230 Views, 6 Replies
07-12-2011 01:10 PM

I'm using the DWG to PDF pc3 file to create PDF's for distribution. Dwg's are all 2D and saved as 2007. But when clients and I print the PDF's (mostly Acrobat Reader) it says it is flattening the files and then prints the sheet(s).

 

Unfortunately this take a long time to print, depending on the number of sheets in the PDF file.

 

Is there a setting I'm missing, or some other fix for this?

 

Thanks

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,296
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (3,222 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-12-2011 08:00 PM in reply to: JIMDONALDSON6595

If you want to avoid that, turn off the two features that trgger it: having layers in the PDF (flattening of...), and disable plot overwrite (creates layering effect, rely on draworder instead).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
JIMDONALDSON6595
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 3 of 7 (3,208 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-13-2011 05:41 AM in reply to: pendean

I found the 'Include Layer Information' option in the DWG To PDF.pc3 file. (See Attached)

 

But where do I find the Plot Overwrite?

 

Thanks

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,296
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (3,200 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-13-2011 10:37 AM in reply to: JIMDONALDSON6595
Merge Control entry right above it.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
JIMDONALDSON6595
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 5 of 7 (3,185 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-13-2011 03:04 PM in reply to: pendean

That worked Dean, thanks. Editing the PC3 file only effects direct plotting though. Had to find similar settings in the publish command.

 

Jim

Valued Mentor
hardin
Posts: 550
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 6 of 7 (3,116 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-29-2011 10:21 AM in reply to: JIMDONALDSON6595

Sometimes, when printing from Acrobat Reader, pick the Advanced button in the print dialog box and check "Print as Image". That will make your computer do all the processing before sending the print 'image' to the printer. Otherwise, the printer has to do all the processing.

At least that's the way I understand it.

Sometimes it helps, sometimes not.

Learn, Practice, Get Better
http://autocad-lkh.blogspot.com
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,849
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 7 of 7 (3,109 Views)

Re: ADOBE 'Flattening' Acad PDF files

07-29-2011 10:46 AM in reply to: hardin

That may compromise the quality of the print because it translates all the vector information in the PDF to raster before sending to the printer.  Depends on the type of PDF and the result you expect, I can see some use of that method, though.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube