AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
GFReneke
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-26-2010
Message 1 of 9 (586 Views)
Accepted Solution

ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

586 Views, 8 Replies
05-18-2012 11:50 AM

I have tried all I can so far; "ADD/INSTALL FEATURES"; "MENULOAD"....but Commands in my Express Menu is still not recognised by AutoCAD.

What now, Friends? Please give detailed instructions, maybe there's something I missed...

 

Thank You in Anticipation...

 

PS: Why does Autodesk have to make life so difficult for us?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 9 (581 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: GFReneke

The stupid thing is, when you install Express, the dumb thing can be anywhere in your PC and not on the path that it try to look in the OPTIONS.

You must do a search thru Window, look for EXPRESS, then go to OPTIONS, repath it and it will work.

 

 

 

Why does Autodesk have to make life so difficult for us?

 

Maybe try to sell the support service :smileyvery-happy:

 



*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 2,586
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (580 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: GFReneke

Assuming that the ET are installed, check your support file search path (Options>Files Tab)

It should include "C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012\express"

As long as that is true, at the AutoCAD command prompt, type in EXPRESSMENU (or possibly EXPRESSTOOLS).

 

Any better?

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 2,586
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (578 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: Patchy

Patchy wrote:

The stupid thing is, when you install Express, the dumb thing can be anywhere in your PC.... 


I've never seen it anywhere other than the default path, unless it was changed by the person creating the deployment - in which case the person should know.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 9 (575 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: rkmcswain
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 2,586
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 9 (568 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: Patchy

No, what you did was map your SFSP to the raw, unzipped files from the download.

 

 

When ET is installed, straight OOTB, the support files reside in \%programfiles%\Autodesk\<product>\Express

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,155
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 7 of 9 (560 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

All right, show me.

Install mechanical without express, then go back to add this tool.

Click on the browse button and let see if it works for you.

Make a movie would be good.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 2,586
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 9 (550 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

05-18-2012 01:31 PM in reply to: Patchy

Well, I gave it a try, and made sure ET was not checked during the install.

When it completed, I fired it up and to my surprise the ET tab was there on the Ribbon, and the commands worked.

A check of the SFSP revealed this path: C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2013\express

 

So it appears that AutoCAD Mech "borrows" the ET install from vanilla AutoCAD 2013 if that is already installed.

 

Sorry, I don't have time to Uninstall everything and install AutoCAD Mech by itself.

 

5-18-2012 3-09-53 PM.png

 

5-18-2012 3-21-41 PM.png

 

 

Active Member
GFReneke
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-26-2010
Message 9 of 9 (494 Views)

Re: ACAD 2012 EXPRESS MENU

06-14-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: GFReneke

Thanks, Friends, I managed to overcome this issue. The "Add/Remove Feature did not work for me, so I uninstalled and re-installed AutoCAD 2012 Mechanical, and it's done the trick!

 

Thanks for all your trouble.....

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube