AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*scottl
Message 1 of 10 (3,630 Views)

2011

3630 Views, 9 Replies
04-14-2010 01:28 PM
Since I don't see a 2011 AutoCAD newsgroup yet I will voice my displeasure
here.
for the "copy with base point" and the "paste" commands that were on the
first right mouse click you now have to right mouse click and pick the
"clipboard" menu first then the others. very frustrating.

--
Scott
win xp 2002 sp3
xeon cpu 3.00 GHz
4 gig of ram
AutoCAD 2011
nvida quadro fx3500
Inventor 2011
*Matt Kolberg
Message 2 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-14-2010 01:40 PM in reply to: *scottl
There is a 2011 forum. It was created the moment 2011 became available.
http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/forum.jspa?forumID=407

--
Matt Kolberg
Global CADD Systems - A division of Cansel
*Bill Gilliss
Message 3 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-14-2010 01:46 PM in reply to: *scottl
On 4/14/2010 4:28 PM, scottl wrote:
> Since I don't see a 2011 AutoCAD newsgroup yet I will voice my displeasure
> here.
> for the "copy with base point" and the "paste" commands that were on the
> first right mouse click you now have to right mouse click and pick the
> "clipboard" menu first then the others. very frustrating.
>
>
I'd missed it, too. Turns I had to refresh the list of newsgroups
available on the Autodesk news server.
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,875
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-14-2010 04:25 PM in reply to: *scottl
Edit the CUI file and move them to where you like.
Valued Contributor
Cadenza
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-15-2010 05:09 AM in reply to: *scottl
Seems like Adesk are determined to add extra clicks into every command sequence, first we had the ribbon with the additional click now we get one on the RMB are they deliberatly trying to slow us down????

OK so there is a way to sort it but why introduce it in the first place? Is it the only way they have left to make improvments / changes??? Please just fix the bugs and things that don't work
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-15-2010 05:31 AM in reply to: *scottl
Have you not seen how log the right-click menu is in 2011? It needs culling,
they decided to sort instead of delete.

But you and the OP can simply edit the CUI and do what you want with all the
menus and ribbon: reason you are using AutoCAD and not SimpleCAD3000 and
having to wait on a manufacturer to put things back. Post back if you get
stuck on where and how, it can get a little tricky.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Doug Broad
Message 7 of 10 (3,630 Views)

Re: 2011

04-15-2010 08:54 AM in reply to: *scottl
Since you posted this to another newsgroup, it is unlikely that you will get
this reply but,

Have you tried CTRL+SHFT+C for copybase? I find it faster than RC anyway.
But like ZEROrdinary said,
you need only change the CUI to adapt to your workstyle.


"scottl" wrote in message
news:6373096@discussion.autodesk.com...
Since I don't see a 2011 AutoCAD newsgroup yet I will voice my displeasure
here.
for the "copy with base point" and the "paste" commands that were on the
first right mouse click you now have to right mouse click and pick the
"clipboard" menu first then the others. very frustrating.

--
Scott
win xp 2002 sp3
xeon cpu 3.00 GHz
4 gig of ram
AutoCAD 2011
nvida quadro fx3500
Inventor 2011
Contributor
powder1742
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
Message 8 of 10 (3,625 Views)

Re: 2011

06-22-2010 11:47 AM in reply to: *scottl

I just installed ACAD Mech 2011 this morning and am already lost without my copy with base point right where it has been for 12 years.  I've spent some time looking around the CUI and can't figure out how to customise the right click menu.  What is it called in the CUI? 

 

Is it even possible to add copy with base point to the first right click menu?

New Member
Ash1Ed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
Message 9 of 10 (3,024 Views)

Re: 2011

11-17-2010 08:29 AM in reply to: powder1742

Yes, you can add it to the right-click menu by going to CUI, search Copy with base point and add the command to:

 

Shortcut Menus, Edit Menu.  I added mine inside the Clipboard sub menu, but you can place it anywhere you like.

Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 10 of 10 (1,461 Views)

Re: 2011

11-22-2011 08:16 AM in reply to: Cadenza

> Dean

 

You say: "simply edit", and then say "it can be a little tricky".  Please don't brush us off. I have found the CUI customization to be non-intuitive and foggy at best.

 

This is something that some of us have gotten very used to. Now on new installs it is gone. I used to teach CAD

 

One of the previous posters made a comment regarding it being there for 12 years, and now its gone. He is expressing his dissatisfaction. I am just getting in to 2011 MEP (wrong forum?) I missed that comand fairly quickly.

 

You made a comment about " SimpleCAD3000 ". People come here for help. If AutoCAD is the tool of choice, the tool to meet or beat, why can't it be easier than the competition? Sometimes there are some simple things that get made complicated. The command was there, now its gone.

 

Autodesk is now sending out "surveys" asking for help grading their website. I spent some of "my time" this morning filling one out.

 

I've been around long enough to remember running AutoCAD from the the side-bar menu. I had a tablet too. Then there were pull-dows. When toolbars were introduced, they were the way of the future. Now Autodesk is jumping on a different bus. The ribbon is NOW the wave of the future, following Microsoft.

 

I spent time getting into setting up toolbars back when. I tried to embrace that. Lately, it seems like out-of-the-box has been my mode of operating. I can be set on a different computer at a whim. Customization gets thrown out when platforms are changed and products upgraded. We *users* out here are at your mercy.

 

Next, I will be learning Revit.

 

> Doug Broad - Thankyou for the simple solution.

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube