AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
molson1
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-10-2008
Message 1 of 8 (1,894 Views)

xref - hide

1894 Views, 7 Replies
04-09-2009 09:07 AM
Is there anyway to hide part of an xref? The drawings I am trying to work with have all the plans on one sheet so I don't want to xclip - I want to hide information in the middle of the drawing.
*Tim Decker
Message 2 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-09-2009 01:15 PM in reply to: molson1

WIPEOUT command should do it.
Valued Contributor
tom_kelly
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 3 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-11-2009 03:09 AM in reply to: molson1
As suggested earlier you can use Wipeout Or If the part you want to hide is on different layer, then freeze that layers in X-ref drawing. Third option would be to use mulitple/polygonal viewports.

Please check and let me know if this helps

Tom
www.indovance.com
Active Contributor
dazza10101
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-28-2006
Message 4 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-22-2009 03:18 AM in reply to: molson1
Xclip?
Contributor
molson1
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-10-2008
Message 5 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-22-2009 07:20 AM in reply to: molson1
I just want to hide part of the middle of the drawing.

Wipeout hides everything - on my drawing and on the reference file.

I could make a really weird polygon for xclip, I guess.

Microstation can clip and keep either the inside of the fence or outside of the fence. That is what I am looking for.
*Tim Decker
Message 6 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-22-2009 07:47 AM in reply to: molson1

You can use the Draw Order to position the Wipeout above the
entities you want to wipeout, and below everything
else.
Contributor
molson1
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-10-2008
Message 7 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-22-2009 09:21 AM in reply to: molson1
Yahoo!!!

Thanks!
Contributor
molson1
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-10-2008
Message 8 of 8 (1,894 Views)

Re: xref - hide

04-29-2009 10:40 AM in reply to: molson1
This is wonderful - on my computer screen in paper and in model space. However, when I plot the image that I have wiped out is still there.

I have tried changing the wipeout frame from a plot layer to a no-plot layer and back again.

Any suggestions?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube