AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Active Member
dunaway2337
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 1 of 11 (1,448 Views)

XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

1448 Views, 10 Replies
03-17-2010 10:27 AM
XREF does not display, layers are on, Layer 0. Varies with project - some jobs the xref comes in sweet; rare projects xref will not appear and file must be inserted as a block or copy paste, thanks
Valued Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 10:40 AM in reply to: dunaway2337
Is it being inserted off screen somewhere maybe? Are you performing a Zoom > Extents after insertion?
Active Member
dunaway2337
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 3 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 10:44 AM in reply to: dunaway2337
Yes I zoomed extents and thank you for your reply. I also checked to see that it is in the proper space, in my case, paper.
Valued Mentor
Randy_Culp
Posts: 1,257
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 4 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: dunaway2337
VPLAYER?
New Member
kariannec
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-17-2010
Message 5 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 11:24 AM in reply to: dunaway2337
Have you tried to Regenall?
Active Member
dunaway2337
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 6 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 12:42 PM in reply to: dunaway2337
Regen and REGENALL does not help but thanks for the advice. Not sure how to apply VPLAYER as the imported layers are not frozen.
Valued Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 7 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 01:10 PM in reply to: dunaway2337
Maybe it's a visibility issue. What is your XDWGFADECTR set to? I've got mine set to 0. I'm at a loss here...I've never had this problem before.
Active Member
dunaway2337
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 8 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 01:22 PM in reply to: dunaway2337
We'll never know, my version, AutoCAD C3D 2008 does not recognize that command, which should come between XCLIPFRAME and XEDGES but doesn't. Again, thanks for your help with this. This doesn't happen often. I wonder if it is in our office template somehow, since that is how I began this dwg. I did xref in the survey topo w/out problems. When I try to xref in another dwg build from an office template, that is when the xref fails to display. Thank you
Valued Mentor
Randy_Culp
Posts: 1,257
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 9 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-17-2010 02:09 PM in reply to: dunaway2337
> {quote:title=dunaway2337 wrote:}{quote}
> Not sure how to apply VPLAYER as the imported layers are not frozen.
The current layer (whatever is active when placing the xref) may be frozen only in the current viewport, in this case paperspace.
Member
Goddo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 10 of 11 (1,448 Views)

Re: XREF DOES NOT DISPLAY

03-25-2010 08:58 AM in reply to: dunaway2337
Have you attempted to insert the file as a block before you tried xreffing?

If so, purge the drawing first and then try to xref.

This might help.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube